My 2016 Complete Movie List: #60 – #51

This 2016 list wasn’t supposed to take this long but unfortunately, look where we find ourselves. Anywho, to switch things up, I’m going to write some of my recaps for each movie in bullet point form.

Now, here are the movies that came in at #60 – #51 on my complete movie list for 2016. Expect to see more disappointing superhero flicks, an overrated “scary movie” and more.

60. Pete’s Dragon

  • A nice wholesome experience. Gives you good vibes
  • If I used words like sweet or cute than that’s how I would describe it
  • Very predictable but what do you expect from a family movie like this
  • To sum it up: It did nothing great, or whatever, but it was still enjoyable for what it was

59. Star Trek Beyond

  • I’m a Simon Pegg fan but I don’t know if he should be writing the script
  • As the villain, Idris Elba was basically unnoticeable in a bad way
  • Zoe Saldana should  get a bigger role because she’s arguably the biggest actor of the bunch
  • The third act was more reminiscent of what I liked about the first two etries in the franchise, compared to the rest of the movie, but still sub-par
  • To sum it up: Fun movie but it just wasn’t as appealing as the first two. Franchise exhaustion? Still looking forward to a fourth installment though.

58. Passengers

  • Jennifer Lawrence took forever to get into the movie. It basically started out as a Chris Pratt version ‘Cast Away’
  • Since I’m a fan of the two leads, watching them hangout up until the ship started to really breakdown was fun to watch
  • The end was weak and fake for even this type of movie. Jim (Pratt) should have died like three times and stayed dead
  • The run-time could have been cut some when Jim was alone because the movie started to feel too long towards the end
  • Good performances from the two leads, especially Lawrence. She seemed to show more range with her character
    • both still have great screen presence
    • The movie would have been a complete disaster without them
  • A good score was used that made the down and somber moments seem even more dramatic
  • To sum it up: A cool, but still disappointing, movie that was held together by its stars. Without them, this movie would have been way farther down my list

57. Moana

  • The short at the beginning was a cool concept of thinking with your heart over your brain sometime but it lost me when it tried to insinuate that your lungs don’t work when your sleep. I don’t know much about the body and all that science stuff so I could be wrong
  • The song Tamatoa (Jemaine Clement) sang was the most pop Disney song I’ve ever heard in one of these movies
    • It didn’t fit in to me
  • Heihei (Alan Tudyk), the rooster, is funny but I thought the movie was going to bring the pig along for the journey. That would have worked better
  • The interfering water could have sped the whole process the plot went through up because it kept cheating throughout the whole movie whenever something bad was about to happen and saved the day
  •  The end dealing with Te Fiti was kind of goofy and fit more with the style of a short film
  • Great voice work by Auli’i Cravalho and Dwayne Johnson
  • Stunning visuals
  • Lin-Manuel Miranda, again, showed his talent with creating music for different type of avenues
  • To sum it up: A funny and entertaining movie for all ages but it’s not something I would necessarily run back to. Also, that cheating water was really annoying

56. Hush

  • Interesting concept with a deaf woman being taunted by an unwanted house guest but I feel like they just touched the tip of the ice berg with it
    • I liked the short run-time but maybe that hindered its depth
  • I like the scenes that show Maddie (Kate Siegel) contemplating her options
    • they showed her die and what else she could do that wouldn’t work
  • Good villain who was just an unnecessary jerk but would have liked a little info on why he was out there or why he was doing what he was doing
  • It’s scary to think about if you were in her shoes and was being haunted by someone
  • To sum it up: The concept and execution makes for an interesting watch but I can’t help but think it didn’t take that next step to make it an even better movie

55. Eddie the Eagle

I was kind of surprised that this movie was as enjoyable as it was. The main reasoning for that is probably because Hugh Jackman and Taron Egerton made for an engaging duo. Egerton also showed me his talents and range as an actor because while watching the movie, I forgot that Eddie was also Eggsy in ‘Kingsman: The Secret Service’. The movie also had a good pacing and buildup throughout so once the ending came, it was easy for heartfelt emotions to arise. I wasn’t a fan of Christopher Walken’s appearance at the end the end because I felt it came at the wrong time. It took the moment away from Eddie and put the focus onto Bronson (Jackman). It was just bad timing because that scene would make you think that the main story is about Jackman’s character but it’s not. Oh and seriously, why is ski jumping a sport? Looks way too dangerous and flat-out terrifying but I’m just a chicken so maybe I’m the only one that feels that way.

54. The Witch

I had extremely high hopes for this movie. I thought it was going to be 2016s ‘It Follows’ and possibly one of the best scary movies to be made in years. The chilling trailer, great reviews and indie spirit got to me. Unfortunately, I was let down. It’s still a good movie experience as it creates a creepy vibe but it just didn’t reach those levels of greatness I predicted it would. It took me two viewings to even fill this way about the movie. The first viewing, I was completely thrown off by the old timey English that was being spoken that I could barely understand what was being said. In result of that, I had no clue what the movie was about because I was relying on the dialogue to guide me. During the second viewing, I was prepared so I really focused on what was being said and was able to understand what was going on and enjoy the movie more. I really must have been thrown off by the gibberish that was being spoken the first time around because the plot was actually very easy to follow. But anyways, this movie is a slow burn and relies on its creepy, thrilling nature to entertain you and it does but not at the level I was expecting.

53. Green Room

This movie wasn’t super hyped up or anything like that but when people actually began to see it, it received plenty of praise. Once I saw it, I didn’t feel it warranted such high praise. The movie is good but, to me, it’s overrated. The movie was entertaining, violent and humorous (more so before all the violence). When you put that all together, you get a movie that should definitely be for me. It also does a good job creating some gut-wrenching tension once the plot gets going because you feel like the story is leading up to something crazy that’s about to happen. Unfortunately, that tension building produced something that didn’t live up to all the buildup. That wasn’t the only problem I had with the movie. I also didn’t like the way the story was conveyed. I feel like there was an over use of dialogue that makes a should be easy to follow story sort of confusing. Patrick Stewart’s Darcy was the character who was the main culprit that helped create the confusion through his dialogue. I just found myself watching the movie and thinking, based off what’s being said, there must be more going on than just a murder that was witnessed by people who shouldn’t have witnessed it who now need to be “taken out.” But I don’t BELIEVE that is the case but I could be wrong. Oh…and don’t forget R.I.P. Anton Yelchin.

52. Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

  • Movie feels rushed
  • The Flashes (Ezra Miller) cameo was hard to make out at first because I couldn’t hear what he was saying
    • Wasn’t feeling the suit after first seeing it too
  • That batmobile introduction scene is sweet. Now I want one
  • The Justice League member surveillance footage was alright but it seemed sooooooo forced and didn’t mesh with the story at all…except maybe Wonder Woman’s (Gal Gadot) entry
  • The Batman (Ben Affleck) vs. Superman (Henry Cavil) battle was a let down and too one sided
    • Batman decides to help Superman because their moms have the same name? UGHHHHHHHHH you have got to be kidding me
  • Batman’s warehouse fight scene was cool. One of the best in the movie
  • Wonder Woman’s theme song isn’t my cup of tea but she was pretty sweet while fighting Doomsday
    • She basically took him on by himself while Batman was standing behind a door or something quivering wondering what he got himself in to
  • Was Lex Luther (Jesse Eisenberg) about to get the chair or something? That’s the only answer I have for why his head was shaved in jail
  • The story was rough around the edges and hard to follow at points. It takes at least a second viewing for that not to be the case as much
  • Eisenberg did a descent job but his Luther was too zany. It was like he was a mix of the Riddler or Joker.
  • The action, as a whole, was a let down especially compared to ‘Man of Steel’
  • To sum it up: So much potential was squandered during the long run-time. Can’t pinpoint one major flaw but you can SURELY name different issues that combine to form such a disappointment

51. Suicide Squad

  • Good idea to show Batman (Affleck) and Flash (Miller) catching villains
    • How they went about some of it (*cough cough Jokers *cough cough) could have  been improved
    • The introductions were rushed
  • Will Smith showed how sweet Deadshot can be with the group landing shootout
    • Smith is also the best part of the movie thanks to his usual great screen presence
    • Would have liked to see Deadshot show off his marksmanship in more difficult and cool ways throughout the rest of the movie
  • Common was a waste of time with his tiny role
  • I like that Jai Courtney is playing off to the side during this one and only comes in to say something or do something funny
  • Joker was criminally underused buuuuuuttttt…..maybe that was a good thing because I wasn’t feeling Jared Leto’s performance
    • Maybe more screen time would have helped his performance
  • Weak villains and plot
  • Some more weak action from another 2016 DCEU movie
  • Other than the Joker (Leto), it’s going to be hard for me to see the members of the Suicide Squad being actual villains in a superhero movie if that option becomes a reality
  • Besides Smith, Margot Robbie and Ike Barinholtz were the movies bright spots
    • Barinholtz needed to be in the movie more
    • Although Robbie stood out, her performances was somewhat underwhelming but that is because I had such high expectations for her
  • Wasn’t as disappointing as the movie one spot above but it didn’t move the DCEU into a better position
  • This movie played it too safe
  • I’d be interested in a Harley Quinn and Joker movie
  • To sum it up: If this was just a Smith led vehicle with no connection to the DCEU then it’s an entertaining blockbuster. But since it is a hyped DCEU movie, it’s graded differently and definitely loses lots of points for not living up to that hype

 

My 2016 Complete Movie List: #70 – #61My 2016 Complete Movie List: #50 – #41

 

(Photo Credit: Larry Horricks – http://www.telegraph.co.uk/film/eddie-the-eagle/review/;  Jacob Sahms – http://screenfish.net/star-trek-beyond-calling-from-space/; https://www.warnerbros.co.uk/movies/batman-v-superman-dawn-of-justice)

2 thoughts on “My 2016 Complete Movie List: #60 – #51

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

