The 2017 ‘I See Movie’ Awards: And the Winners Are…

The 2017 ‘I See Movie’ Awards: And the Winners Are…

It’s finally time to reveal the winners of the 2017 The ‘I See Movie’ Awards a.k.a. The Nateys are. I know everyone all over the world has been anticipating this as much as the release of ‘Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2’. OK I’m slightly exaggerating but you get the point. Below you’ll see who won based on the readers votes (thanks to everyone who voted by the way. I appreciate the involvement. This year saw the most in the three years of the awards history so again, thank you!) and who I personally have taking home the lovely eye shaped trophy. You’ll see some “performances” sprinkled between the announcements so it’s kind of like an actual awards ceremony. Alright, I’m going to stop talking and just get to it because I know that’s what every single person all over the world is thinking. So, once again, here are the winners for the 3rd annual ‘I See Movie’ Awards!

Best Picture

  • ‘Arrival’
  • ‘Captain America: Civil War’
  • ‘The Conjuring 2’
  • ‘Deadpool’
  • ‘Doctor Strange’
  • ‘La La Land’
  • ‘The Lobster’
  • ‘Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising’
  • ‘The Nice Guys’
  • ‘Sausage Party’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘The Lobster’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘The Lobster’

Best Director

  • Damien Chazelle – ‘La La Land’
  • Jon Favreau – ‘The Jungle Book’
  • Anthony and Joe Russo – ‘Captain America: Civil War’
  • Denis Villeneuve – ‘Arrival’
  • James Wan – ‘The Conjuring 2’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Anthony and Joe Russo‘Captain America: Civil War’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: James Wan‘The Conjuring 2’

Best Actor

  • Colin Farrell – ‘The Lobster’
  • Andrew Garfield – ‘Hacksaw Ridge’
  • Ryan Gosling – ‘The Nice Guys’
  • Jake Gyllenhaal – ‘Demolition’
  • Ryan Reynolds – ‘Deadpool’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Colin Farrell – ‘The Lobster’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Jake Gyllenhaal‘Demolition’

Best Actress

  • Amy Adams – ‘Arrival’
  • Emily Blunt – ‘The Girl on the Train’
  • Emilia Clarke – ‘Me Before You’
  • Sally Field – ‘Hello, My Name is Doris’
  • Emma Stone – ‘La La Land’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Emma Stone ‘La La Land’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Emma Stone – ‘La La Land’

Best Supporting Actor

  • Sharlto Copley – ‘Hardcore Henry’
  • Ben Foster – ‘Hell or High Water’
  • John Goodman – ’10 Cloverfield Lane’
  • Lucas Hedges – ‘Manchester by the Sea’
  • Ashton Sanders – ‘Moonlight’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: John Goodman’10 Cloverfield Lane’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: John Goodman – ’10 Cloverfield Lane’

Best Supporting Actress

  • Haley Bennett – ‘The Girl on the Train’
  • Naomie Harris – ‘Moonlight’
  • Ariane Labed – ‘The Lobster’
  • Angourie Rice – ‘The Nice Guys’
  • Shailene Woodley – ‘Snowden’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Ariane Labed – ‘The Lobster’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Shailene Woodley‘Snowden’

Best Animated Movie

  • ‘Finding Dory’
  • ‘Kubo and the Two Strings’
  • ‘Sausage Party’
  • ‘Storks’
  • ‘Zootopia’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Zootopia’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Sausage Party’

Best Comedy

  • ‘Deadpool’
  • ‘The Lobster’
  • ‘Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising’
  • ‘Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping’
  • ‘Sausage Party’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘The Lobster’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising’

 

Now from the ‘Popstar: Never Stop Never Stopping’ soundtrack…

Best Action Movie

  • ‘Captain America: Civil War’
  • ‘Deadpool’
  • ‘Doctor Strange’
  • ‘The Magnificent Seven’
  • ‘Rogue One’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Deadpool’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Captain America: Civil War’

 

Now from the ‘Deadpool’ soundtrack…

Best Visual Effects

  • ‘Arrival’
  • ‘Captain America: Civil War’
  • ‘Doctor Strange’
  • ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them’
  • ‘Rogue One’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Doctor Strange’

Best Screenplay

  • Shane Black – ‘The Nice Guys’
  • Damien Chazelle – ‘La La Land’
  • Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou – ‘The Lobster’
  • Kenneth Lonergan – ‘Manchester by the Sea’
  • Richard Linklater – ‘Everybody Wants Some!!!’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou – ‘The Lobster’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Yorgos Lanthimos and Efthymis Filippou – ‘The Lobster’

Best Score/Soundtrack

  • ‘Hidden Figures’
  • ‘La La Land’
  • ‘The Lobster’
  • ‘Moonlight’
  • ‘The Neon Demon’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘The Lobster’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘La La Land’

 

Now from the ‘Hidden Figures’ soundtrack…

Best Scary Movie

  • ‘The Conjuring 2’
  • ‘Don’t Breathe’
  • ‘Hush’
  • ‘Lights Out’
  • ‘The Witch’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Don’t Breathe’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘The Conjuring 2’

Best Villain

  • John Gallagher Jr. – ‘Hush’
  • John Goodman – ’10 Cloverfield Lane’
  • Aaron Taylor-Johnson – ‘Nocturnal Animals’
  • Stephen Lang – ‘Don’t Breathe’
  • Racist White People – ‘The Birth of a Nation’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Stephen Lang – ‘Don’t Breathe’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: John Goodman – ’10 Cloverfield Lane’

Best Moment

  • Big Third Act Shootout – ‘The Magnificent Seven’
  • Epilogue (“What If” Scene) – ‘La La Land’
  • First Battle at Hacksaw – ‘Hacksaw Ridge’
  • Last Darth Vader Scene – ‘Rogue One’
  • Reverse Time Fight Scene – ‘Doctor Strange’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Reverse Time Fight Scene – ‘Doctor Strange’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Last Darth Vader Scene – ‘Rogue One’

Special Recognition of the Funniest Moments of 2016!

“Lava Pool Party” – ‘Zoolander No. 2’

AND

The Big Orgy Scene – ‘Sausage Party’

 

Readers Scoreboard:

  • ‘The Lobster’ (6)
  • ‘Don’t Breathe’ (2)
  • ’10 Cloverfield Lane’ (1)
  • ‘Captain America: Civil War’ (1)
  • ‘Deadpool’ (1)
  • ‘Doctor Strange’ (1)
  • ‘Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them’ (1)
  • ‘La La Land’ (1)
  • ‘Zootopia’ (1)

‘I See Movies’ Scoreboard

  • ’10 Cloverfield Lane’ (2)
  • ‘The Conjuring 2’ (2)
  • ‘La La Land’ (2)
  • ‘The Lobster’ (2)
  • ‘Captain America: Civil War’ (1)
  • ‘Demolition’ (1)
  • ‘Doctor Strange’ (1)
  • ‘Neighbors 2: Sorority Rising’ (1)
  • ‘Sausage Party’ (1)
  • ‘Snowden’ (1)
  • ‘Rogue One’ (1)

The readers made some great choices but of course I would say that since I’m the one who came up with all the nominees but whatever. Anyways, congrats to all the winners. Those who weren’t able to make it to the ceremony to accept your award, I will ship it out to you as soon as I can. Once again, thanks to everyone who voted or just thought about voting but didn’t actually vote (maybe you’ll finally give in next year). I plan on having a 4th annual award show next year so tweet me, email me or however you want to get at me and let me know throughout the year who you think should be nominated. Also comment below with your thoughts on my choices, the readers choices and whatever else you want to touch on.

One thought on “The 2017 ‘I See Movie’ Awards: And the Winners Are…

  1. Pingback: Leo B. Gyllenhaal Podcast – ‘I See Movie’ Awards Winners (Episode 45) | I See Movies

Leave a Reply

