2017 Academy Award Predictions

Since the nominations for the ‘The 89th Academy Awards’ have been revealed, it’s time for me to jump in and give my predictions on how it’s all going to play out (OK not ALL because I’m not going to be making predictions on every category). For each category, I’ll give who I want to win and who I think will win. Last year, I did better when it came to thinking with my heart over my head. I guess we’ll see how things turn out this year come February 26th, 2017 when the Oscars air. But for right now, lets go ahead on with my 2017 Academy Award predictions.

Best Picture

  • Arrival
  • Fences
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Hell or High Water
  • Hidden Figures
  • La La Land
  • Lion
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight

Who I Want to Win: Arrival

One of my favorites of the year that has amazing twist is deserving of this top honor. Denis Villeneuve continues his high level winning streak and Amy Adams gives a great performance in this award worthy flick.

Who I Think Will Win: Moonlight

Best Director

  • Denis Villeneuve, Arrival
  • Mel Gibson, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Damien Chazelle, La La Land
  • Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea
  • Barry Jenkins, Moonlight

Who I Want to Win: Denis Villeneuve, Arrival

One of my favorite directors, Villeneuve, has been making great movies so I would love to see him get recognized here. Arrival was a hauntingly dark, beautifully shot movie and that’s thanks to Villeneuve.

Who I Think Will Win: Damien Chazelle, La La Land

Best Actor

  • Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
  • Andrew Garfield, Hacksaw Ridge
  • Ryan Gosling, La La Land
  • Viggo Mortensen, Captain Fantastic
  • Denzel Washington, Fences

Who I Want to Win: Ryan Gosling, La La Land

Gosling had a great 2016 and his performance in La La Land was a big reason why. He’s one of the best, most charismatic actors doing it and he used 2016 to remind the world.

Who I Think Will Win: Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea

Best Actress

  • Isabelle Huppert, Elle
  • Ruth Negga, Loving
  • Natalie Portman, Jackie
  • Emma Stone, La La Land
  • Meryl Streep, Florence Foster Jenkins

Who I Want to Win: Emma Stone, La La Landmaxresdefault

The queen Emily Stone was lovely in La La Land. From the acting, to the singing to the dancing, she killed it all. I would love to see her gracefully walk up onto the stage and accept that gold body shaped trophy.

Who I Think Will Win: Emma Stone, La La Land

Best Supporting Actor

  • Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
  • Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water
  • Lucas Hedges, Manchester by the Sea
  • Dev Patel, Lion
  • Michael Shannon, Nocturnal Animals

Who I Want to Win: Mahershala Ali, Moonlight

Even though he was only in the movie for like 15 – 20 minutes (give or take), he still gave a worthy performance. A movie that is filled with great acting performances deserves recognition for said performances and it starts here.

Who I Think Will Win: Jeff Bridges, Hell or High Water

Best Supporting Actress

  • Nicole Kidman, Lion
  • Viola Davis, Fences
  • Naomie Harris, Moonlight
  • Octavia Spencer, Hidden Figures
  • Michelle Williams, Manchester by the Sea

Who I Want to Win: Naomie Harris, Moonlightharris

Like I just said above, Moonlight is filled with great performances and Harris’ was one of the strongest from the pack so go ahead and hand her the trophy.

Who I Think Will Win: Naomie Harris, Moonlight

Best Animated Feature

  • Zootopia
  • Kubo and the Two Strings
  • Moana
  • My Life as a Zucchini
  • The Red Turtle

Who I Want to Win: Kubo and the Two Strings

This isn’t my favorite movie of the bunch but it was much better than I expected. So since it surprised me, I will be rooting for it on Oscar night.

Who I Think Will Win: Zootopia

Best Film Editing

  • La La Land
  • Moonlight
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Arrival
  • Hell or High Water

Who I Want to Win: La La Land

The non-editing used during the performance numbers and the editing used during the montage scenes were all great.

Who I Think Will Win: Moonlight

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • A Man Called Ove
  • Star Trek Beyond
  • Suicide Squad

Who I Want to Win: A Man Called Ovea_man_called_ove_-_2

I haven’t seen this movie or heard of it but the other two nominated movies really disappointed me so they WILL NOT get the pleasure of having my vote here.

Who I Think Will Win: A Man Called Ove

Best Original Score

  • Jackie
  • La La Land
  • Lion
  • Moonlight
  • Passengers

Who I Want to Win: La La Land

The music in La La Land is beautiful but to keep it simple, this critically beloved musical should win this music category.

Who I Think Will Win: La La Land

Best Original Song

  • “Audition (The Fools Who Dream)”, La La Land
  • “Can’t Stop the Feeling”, Trolls
  • “City of Stars”, La La Land
  • “The Empty Chair”, Jim
  • “How Fair I’ll Go”, Moana

Who I Want to Win: “Can’t Stop the Feeling”, Trolls

Besides the fact that this was the feel good anthem of 2016, really I just want my main man Justin Timberlake to win.

Who I Think Will Win: “City of Stars”, La La Land

Best Production Design

  • Arrival
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
  • Hail, Caesar!
  • La La Land
  • Passengers

Who I Want to Win: La La LandLLL d 29 _5194.NEF

I think the use of bright colors plus bringing the beauty out of some parts of Los Angeles makes La La Land deserving of the victory here.

Who I Think Will Win: La La Land

Best Sound Editing

  • Arrival
  • Deepwater Horizon
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • La La Land
  • Sully

Who I Want to Win: Arrival

The noise that came from the aliens alone is why I got Arrival here. Weird reason, I know.

Who I Think Will Win: La La Land

Best Visual Effects

  • Deepwater Horizon
  • Doctor Strange
  • The Jungle Book
  • Kubo and the Two Strings
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Who I Want to Win: Doctor Strange

Visually, Doctor Strange is one of the best in the MCU so since I’m Marvel biased, I’m rooting for it here. Don’t get me wrong though, it’s also the best looking movie of the bunch.

Who I Think Will Win: Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Arrival
  • Fences
  • Hidden Figures
  • Lion
  • Moonlight

Who I Want to Win: Arrival

To pull off the great story that resides in Arrival you need a great script and that’s exactly what this movie has.

Who I Think Will Win: Moonlight

Best Original Screenplay

  • La La Land
  • Hell or High Water
  • The Lobster
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • 20th Century Women

Who I Want to Win: The Lobster

The Lobster is one of the most unique and original movies I’ve ever seen that has a great, funny, always entertaining script.

Who I Think Will Win: La La Land

 

Who I Want to Win Numbers:

  • La La Land (5)
  • Arrival (4)
  • Moonlight (2)
  • A Man Called Ove (1)
  • Doctor Strange (1)
  • Kubo and the Two Strings (1)
  • The Lobster (1)
  • Trolls (1)

Who I Think Will Win Numbers:

  • La La Land (7)
  • Moonlight (4)
  • A Man Called Ove (1)
  • Hell or High Water (1)
  • Manchester by the Sea (1)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (1)
  • Zootopia (1)

Either way, I  see La La Land being one of the big winners of the night. The rest of the awards I see being sprinkled out to several other movies. Soon we’ll see how right (or wrong) I’ll turn out to be. Now if you disagree with my picks, comment below and give me your choices. If you agree with me, go ahead and tell me how right you think I am.

 

(Photo Credit: http://dl9fvu4r30qs1.cloudfront.net/82/d9/2807b101499d8c5270470063e0a7/oscars.jpg;

Summit Entertainment; A24; http://www.musicboxfilms.com/a-man-called-ove-movies-139.php; http://la.curbed.com/maps/la-la-land-filming-locations)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

