Quick From Off The Shelf Reviews: ‘Get Him to the Greek’ (2010) & ‘Grown Ups’ (2010)

Get Him to the Greek (2010)Film Title: Get Him to the Greek

This movie came out back when a guy by the name of Russell Brand was popular, I just wanted to throw that out there. Anyway, this was a hilarious movie that had harder laugh-out-loud moments the more the movie went on. Jonah Hill was great and hilarious as usual but Sean ‘Puffy’ Combs stole the show as the hilarious ridiculous, over-the-top boss. After multiple viewings, I don’t have a problem with Brand’s performance but it’s just a take it or leave it performance for me. The movie did need some more of Rose Byrne though. She was used way too little but when she was used, she definitely brought the laughs. Random trivia with this movie; I completely forgot that this was a ‘Forgetting Sarah Marshall’ spinoff. That little world is 2 for 2.

RATING: Must Own

 

Grown Ups (2010)grownups

This movie definitely has lost it’s appeal for me. I thought it was hilarious when it first came out but this Adam Sandler that we’ve been dealt the past several years has a style of humor that doesn’t have a long shelf life. I still think the movie is enjoyable and funny throughout but I definitely am not laughing as hard and as often as I was when it first came out. I do still like the style the story takes where it’s not a typical plot but just friends and their families hanging out for a weekend and cracking jokes while some life lessons learned. It has a more real life feel to it and it comes off natural since the cast have great chemistry to where it seemed like they were just hanging out with each other while the cameras rolled.

RATING: Would Accept as a Gift

 

P.S. Once again here is my rating scale. There are four different levels. Below is each level in order from best to worse and what each one means.

Must Own = A movie that is so good that I must add it to my Blu-ray collection when it comes out.

Would Accept as a Gift = I enjoyed the movie but don’t necessarily have to buy it (especially if I don’t have the funds to) myself but I would take it if someone bought it for me.

Might Rent = A movie that if I have the urge to watch again then I’ll just rent it from somewhere or Netflix it.

Never See Again = Very simple. I don’t want to ever see this movie again.

 

(Photo Credit: Glen Wilson/Universal Pictures; http://www.premiumhollywood.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/06/2384_D033_00100R.JPG_cmyk.jpg; http://www.grownups2-movie.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/grownups.jpg)

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

