The 2016 ‘I See FlyPaper’ Movie Awards: And the Winners Are…

If you didn’t listen to Leo B. Gyllenhaal Podcast – The Life of Leo (Episode 8) yet, then it’s finally time for you to find out who the winners of the 2016 ‘I See FlyPaper’ Movie Awards a.k.a. The Nateys are. I know everyone all over the world has been anticipating this as much as the release of ‘Star Wars: Episode VIII’. OK I’m slightly exaggerating but you get the point. Below you’ll see who won based on the readers votes (thanks to everyone who voted by the way. I appreciate the involvement) and who I personally have taking home the lovely eye shaped trophy. You’ll see some “performances” sprinkled between the announcements so it’s kind of like an actual awards ceremony. Alright, I’m going to stop talking and just get to it because I know that’s what every single person all over the world is thinking. So, once again, here are the winners for the 2nd annual ‘I See FlyPaper’ Movie Awards!

Best Picture

  • ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’
  • ‘Creed’
  • ‘Dope’
  • ‘Furious 7’
  • ‘It Follows’
  • ‘Kingsman: The Secret Service’
  • ‘The Revenant’
  • ‘Spy’
  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’
  • ‘Ted 2’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’

Best Director

  • J.J. Abrams – ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’
  • Alejandro González Iñárritu – ‘The Revenant’
  • David Robert Mitchell – ‘It Follows’
  • Denis Villeneuve – ‘Sicario’
  • Joss Whedon – ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: J.J. Abrams – ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Alejandro González Iñárritu‘The Revenant’

Best Actor

  • Leonardo DiCaprio – ‘The Revenant’
  • Michael Fassbender – ‘Steve Jobs’
  • Jake Gyllenhaal – ‘Southpaw’
  • Michael B. Jordan – ‘Creed’
  • Jason Mitchell – ‘Straight Outta Compton’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Jake Gyllenhaal‘Southpaw’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Leonardo DiCaprio – ‘The Revenant’

 

Now from the ‘Southpaw’ soundtrack…

Best Actress

  • Emily Blunt – ‘Sicario’
  • Amy Schumer – ‘Trainwreck’
  • Bel Powley – ‘The Diary of a Teenage Girl’
  • Daisy Ridley – ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’
  • Mae Whitman – ‘The D.U.F.F.’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Daisy Ridley – ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Emily Blunt‘Sicario’

Best Supporting Actor

  • Michael Angarano – ‘The Stanford Prison Experiment’
  • LeBron James – ‘Trainwreck’
  • Michael Shannon – ’99 Homes’
  • Sylvester Stallone – ‘Creed’
  • Forest Whitaker – ‘Southpaw’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Sylvester Stallone‘Creed’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: LeBron James‘Trainwreck’

Best Supporting Actress

  • Rose Bryne – ‘Spy’
  • Rebecca Ferguson – ‘Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation’
  • Emma Stone – ‘Irrational Man’
  • Tessa Thompson – ‘Creed’
  • Kate Winslet – ‘Steve Jobs’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Kate Winslet‘Steve Jobs’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Rose Bryne‘Spy’

Best Animated Movie

  • Dragon Ball Z: Resurrection ‘F’
  • ‘Home’
  • ‘Inside Out’
  • ‘Minions’
  • ‘The Peanuts Movie’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Inside Out’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Inside Out’

Best Comedy

  • ‘The Night Before’
  • ‘Spy’
  • ‘Ted 2’
  • ‘Trainwreck’
  • ‘Vacation’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘The Night Before’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Ted 2’

Best Action Movie

  • ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’
  • ‘Furious 7’
  • ‘Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation’
  • ‘Spectre’
  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Furious 7’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’

 

Now from the ‘Furious 7’ soundtrack…

Best Visual Effects

  • ‘Ant-Man’
  • ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’
  • ‘Mad Max: Fury Road’
  • ‘The Martian’
  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

Best Screenplay

  • Ryan Coogler and Aaron Covington – ‘Creed’
  • Woody Allen – ‘Irrational Man’
  • Rick Famuyiwa – ‘Dope’
  • Amy Schumer – ‘Trainwreck’
  • Quentin Tarantino – ‘The Hateful Eight’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Quentin Tarantino‘The Hateful Eight’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Rick Famuyiwa‘Dope’

 

Now from the ‘Dope’ soundtrack…

Best Score/Soundtrack

  • ‘The Hateful Eight’
  • ‘It Follows’
  • ‘Sicario’
  • ‘Southpaw’
  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Southpaw’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘It Follows’

Best Scary Movie

  • ‘Goodnight, Mommy’
  • ‘Insidious: Chapter 3’
  • ‘It Follows’
  • ‘Unfriended’
  • ‘The Visit’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Insidious: Chapter 3’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘It Follows’

Best Villain

  • Michael Angarano – ‘The Stanford Prison Experiment’
  • Rose Bryne – ‘Spy’
  • Adam Driver – ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’
  • Michael Ealy – ‘The Perfect Guy’
  • Michael Shannon – ’99 Homes’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Adam Driver – ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Rose Bryne – ‘Spy’

 

Readers Scoreboard:

  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ (5)
  • ‘Southpaw’ (2)
  • ‘Creed’ (1)
  • ‘Furious 7’ (1)
  • ‘The Hateful Eight’ (1)
  • ‘Inside Out’ (1)
  • ‘Insidious: Chapter 3’ (1)
  • ‘The Night Before’ (1)
  • ‘Steve Jobs’ (1)

‘I See Movies’ Scoreboard

  • ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’ (2)
  • ‘It Follows’ (2)
  • ‘The Revenant’ (2)
  • ‘Spy’ (2)
  • ‘Dope’ (1)
  • ‘Inside Out’ (1)
  • ‘Sicario’ (1)
  • ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ (1)
  • ‘Ted 2’ (1)
  • ‘Trainwreck’ (1)

The readers made some great choices but of course I would say that since I’m the one who came up with all the nominees but whatever. Anyways, congrats to all the winners. Those who weren’t able to make it to the ceremony to accept your award, I will ship it out to you as soon as I can. Once again, thanks to everyone who voted or just thought about voting but didn’t actually vote. I plan on having a 3rd annual award show next year so tweet me, email me or however you want to get at me and let me know throughout the year who you think should be nominated. Also comment below with your thoughts on my choices, the readers choices and whatever else you want to touch on.

2 thoughts on “The 2016 ‘I See FlyPaper’ Movie Awards: And the Winners Are…

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

