‘I See Movies’ 20 Most Anticipated Movies For 2016 – Part 2

Alright, I’m back with the top 10 movies I’m anticipating the most for 2016. You’ll see some obvious choices and you might see some not so obvious choices. But you’ll never know unless you read on. So go ahead and read on because you know you want to.

10. Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Release Date: December 16, 2016

You would think this movie would be a lot higher on my list seeing how I loved ‘Star Wars: The Force Awakens’ but I don’t know. Maybe I’m still in Episode VII mode. Maybe I’m not feeling the story of this anthology film that much. I don’t know. I’m sure it’ll be great but it just sits at ten on my anticipated list right now.

9. The Conjuring 2wan-director-01

Release Date: June 10, 2016

I’m a huge James Wan fan and what he’s done for the horror genre. So I’m definitively looking forward to the sequel to one of the best horror movies to come out in the past few years.

8. Doctor Strange

Release Date: November 4, 2016

I’m not to familiar with the Doctor Strange comics but it doesn’t really matter. All MCU movies are on my radar so it doesn’t matter what the movie is about. As long as they make them, I’m going to be excited for them.

7. X-Men: Apocalypsexmen-thumb

Release Date: May 27, 2016

Although the trailer for this movie was just OK, I know it’s going to awesome (it was the first trailer for it so I’m not trippin’). ‘X-Men: Days of Future Past’ was a great addition to the ‘X-Men’ catalog so it only amps up the anticipation for this one. I’m really interested in seeing how the younger versions of the original hero’s we saw in ‘X-Men’ work out and how Oscar Isaac does as the very strong/odd looking mutant, Apocalypse.

6. Neighbors 2

Release Date: May 20, 2016

There’s a sequel coming for the funniest movie of 2014? Yeah, I’ll definitely take it. The cast for the first one was great and the best parts of it are coming back for another go around, and Selena Gomez is joining the ruckus? Yeah, this movie should be a fun one. Maybe not as funny as the first one but fun nonetheless.

5. Suicide SquadCYe5a4OUEAA4uui

Release Date: August 5, 2016

This movie has a lot going for it besides the fact that it’s a “big comic book movie.” The concept of a villain team up movie hasn’t been done yet so that creates intrigue. Will Smith in his first comic book movie creates intrigue for me. Someone taking on the Joker role after the late great Heath Ledger completely lost himself in the character creates big shoes to fill…and more intrigue. It has more going for it but I’m just going to leave it at that for now.

4. Finding Dory

Release Date: June 17, 2016

Even though ‘Finding Nemo’ doesn’t need a sequel because it’s a classic and should probably be left alone, I’m still excited for this sequel; Hey what can I say. It’s been so long since the original that hopefully this sequel kind of feels like its own movie and not just an attempt to grab some money from the parents of the new wave of kids who weren’t alive when ‘Finding Nemo’ came out. All I know is, when I go and see this movie, I don’t want to have to keep telling a bunch of kids around me to “Shhh!” because I just want to enjoy my movie and have no problems.

3. Deadpooldeadpool1

Release Date: February 12, 2016

FINALLY this movie gets made! Deadpool is my favorite comic book character so to see him finally get a movie is special to see. The fact that it’s rated R makes it even more special because that means it actually has a chance to really capture the spirit of how Deadpool is in the comics. Also, I’m happy that it was given an early in the year release and not a summer release or something later because we’ve waited long enough for this movie. We don’t have time to wait any longer!

2. Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice

Release Date: March 25, 2016

The positioning of these last two movies was tough but I ultimately made the right decision. For one, I thoroughly enjoyed ‘Man of Steel’ so, regardless, I was looking forward to DC’s followup to it. For two, uh this is the first time Batman and Superman are going to be sharing the big screen together so that alone makes it a must-see. For three, the casting is controversial and intriguing at the same time. I can’t wait to see how these performances turn out. For uh…four, I got to see if all the spoilers I’ve read about actually turn out to be true and if so, will it ruin the movie for me. And finally, for five, will DC be able to back up all this big talk they spewing out about how awesome their cinematic (or extended) universe will be.

1. Captain America: Civil WarCaptain-America-Civil-War-Caps-Team

Release Date: May 6, 2016

When things get tough, I got to let my Marvel bias kick in and that’s exactly what I did here. The movie at the number two spot has the potential to be amazing but so does this one. For one (yeah I’m counting again), it’s an MCU movie so that automatically means I’m going to enjoy it. For two, it’s a sequel to the best movie of 2014 (in my opinion) so that automatically makes it very anticipated. For three, with all the MCU hero’s it has on the billing, it’s basically an ‘Avengers 2.5.’ movie and that’s not a bad thing in my opinion. For four, it’s storyline is inspired by the popular Civil War storyline from the comic books so I look forward to seeing how the geniuses over at Marvel are able to translate it to the big screen all while blending it in with the cinematic universe they have created so far. For five, this will be the first time we get to see what Marvel has in store for their version of Spider-Man as well as how they’ll handle the Black Panther. Shout out to Ryan Coogler for getting the directing gig for the Black Panther movie! Just thought I throw that in there.

 

Alright, there you go. My top 20 list of movies I’m anticipating the most for 2016 is complete. If you missed Part 1 of the list then click right here. Now please comment below on what movies your anticipating the most this year or just if you want to complain about my list. Whatever you’re in the mood for.

 

(Photo Credit: B. ALAN ORANGE – http://movieweb.com/star-wars-rogue-one-movie-cast-photo/; Warner Bros.; Instagram/James Wan; Kimberly Truoung – http://mashable.com/2015/07/16/x-men-apocalypse-first-photos/#DBN7Uxg4eOqJ; https://pbs.twimg.com/media/CYe5a4OUEAA4uui.jpg; Thomas OConnor – http://www.screenrelish.com/2016/01/11/new-deadpool-banner-shows-a-very-different-kind-of-movie/; Dan Woburn – http://whatculture.com/film/spoilers-lego-sets-give-away-huge-character-moment-for-captain-america-civil-war.php)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

