Marvel Cinematic Universe Movies: Worst to First

Marvel Cinematic Universe Movies: Worst to First

‘Ant-Man’ is not only the most recent Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) movie to be released (read my review here) but it also closes out Phase 2 of the MCU. So now is the best time as ever to go over my complete list of the MCU movies, from worst to first. I shouldn’t really use the term “worst”, though, because it sounds so negative and I don’t look at any of the MCU movies as a negative. But it’s too late because I don’t feel like changing it (yeah I’m that lazy). So look below as I rank all 12 MCU movies from my least favorite all the way up (or, technically, down) to my favorite. After you’re done checking my awesome list, vote for your favorite MCU movie. The winner will be announced on a future episode of the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast!

UPDATE: Here which movie received the most votes on Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – Terrence J for Ali (Episode 39)!

12. ‘Thor’

Cool introduction to the Asgardian god. It just needed more entertaining action and Thor (Chris Hemsworth) shouldn’t of got over his jerkish ways so quickly. But it’s still a good movie and it has Natalie Portman in it so that’s always a plus.

11. ‘The Incredible Hulk’

I thought Edward Norton did a good job portraying Bruce Banner so it was a little unfortunate when I read that he wouldn’t be continuing on with the role. Anyways, it’s easy to forget that this movie is apart of the MCU but it’s still an entertaining movie with a cool final battle scene. It’s definitely a big step up from Ang Lee‘s ‘Hulk’.

10. ‘Thor: The Dark World’Thor-2-The-Dark-World-2013-Wallpaper1

A step up from ‘Thor’ but a solo film starring the Asgardian god still hasn’t reached its true potential yet. Hopeful ‘Thor: Ragnarok’ can reach or even surpass that potential. I think it will, personally. Anyways, once again Mrs. Portman is in this one so once again it’s a plus.

9. ‘Iron Man 2’

Robert Downey Jr. was great again as Tony Starks, it was nice to have Scarlett Johansson join the fold and I liked Don Cheadle as James Rhodes more than I did Terrence Howard. Things take a downward when it comes to Mickey Rourke‘s villain, Ivan Vanko (a.k.a. Whiplash…sort of). The story as well could of been better but whatever, the movie was still a fun, good time.

8. ‘Ant-Man’

(Once again, read my review right here)

Paul Rudd did a good job as Scott Lang/Ant-Man and the action was cool (especially the big final battle). Just an entertaining movie all around but I can’t help but wonder (no matter how hard I try not to) what was different about Edgar Wright‘s version and if it would of been better. I need to just get over it because the movie is good. I always have to find a reason to complain.

7. ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’captain-america-the-first-avenger-movie-image-76-600x442

I just really enjoyed how the movie looked. The tent of the environment felt very cinematic, in my opinion. Chris Evans did a good job portraying his straight-laced Steve Rodgers, Hayley Atwell  was in it so there goes another automatic plus and Hugo Weaving‘s Red Skull is one of the best villains in the MCU so far.

6. ‘Iron Man 3’

Downey Jr. was still awesome in the third solo Tony Starks go around. I have a like/dislike relationship with the Mandarin twist with one side of me wishing the actual villain was portrayed and the other side of me liking the risk Marvel took. The rest of the movie is an awesome time; funny and action-packed just the way I like it.

5. ‘Iron Man’

Who knew how great of a casting Downey Jr. as Starks would turn out to be. Thank goodness it was spot on because it got the MCU off on such a good foot. Downey Jr.’s wit and confident personality on top of a great origin story made ‘Iron Man’ such a great movie. The villain was pretty weak but the movie was so good that it really didn’t hurt it to much.

4. ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ 

(Read my thoughts on it here)

When I first saw the trailer for the first time, I said that it would be one ofguardians-of-the-galaxy-team-21 the best MCU movies and I was basically right. This top five was so hard to put in order but I think I got it. Chris Pratt killed it as Peter Quill/Star-Lord, Bradley Cooper‘s voice work for Rocket was awesome and hilarious and Groot…who knew a character who says only three words could be so funny and entertaining. Shout out to my boy Mark Sinclair a.k.a. Vin Diesel. The eclectic group of hero’s that was on display was just the change of pace the MCU needed. James Gunn was such a great choice to direct and write (because that script was amazing).

3. ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’

(Read my thoughts on it here)

This is my favorite movie from 2014! I loved this movie because it felt like it had non-stop sweet action and the plot had serious effects for the MCU. It’s clearly one of the more important movie of the universe. The political thriller element mixed in with the comic book element worked out so well. I also liked how this sequel had a completely different feel than it’s predecessor, ‘Captain America: The First Avenger’. The villain in this movie, the Winter Soldier, is also one of the best villains in the MCU and he actually didn’t die. Shocker.

2. ‘Marvel’s The Avengers’

(Read my review here)

This is one of my favorite movies of all-time! This is the true definition of having fun at the movies. You have entertaining characters, entertaining conversations, humor and great action. What else do you need? The battle of New York, at the end, clearly is one of the best action scenes, action set pieces, third act battles, or whatever you want to call it, of all time.

1. ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’

(Read my review here)

As I write this, this is my current favorite movie of 2015! I knew it would be hard to top ‘Marvel’s The Avengers’avengers-age-of-ultron-cast-interviews-feature-1200x520 but I think this sequel did it (Still not 100% sure but I’m always indecisive so what’s new). No scene tops the Battle of New York but the Battle of Sokovia is close and feels like there’s more at stake. ‘Avengers: Age of Ultron’ does have a lot more action all while still keeping it’s humor so you got to love it. Ultron wasn’t as menacing as I hoped but he was still a good villain and Hawkeye went from one of the worst characters in ‘The Avengers’ to being one of the best this go around.

 

Alright, you just saw my list and, in the end, my favorite MCU movie so now it’s your turn. Vote below for your favorite MCU movie and please comment on why you chose what you chose! Also, if you comment below and talk about how wrong my list is then go right ahead. UPDATE: Voting is Closed!

 

(Photo Credit: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marvel_Cinematic_Universe;

http://www.geeksundergrace.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/04/Thor-2-The-Dark-World-2013-Wallpaper1.jpg; Matt Goldberg – http://collider.com/captain-america-comic-con-screening-tickets/; https://fuzzytypewritershow.wordpress.com/2014/08/06/ft-podcast-episode-guardians-of-the-galaxy/; Joshua Nealey – http://www.hypable.com/new-avengers-age-of-ultron-character-interviews-released/)

4 thoughts on “Marvel Cinematic Universe Movies: Worst to First

  1. Pingback: Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – Terrence J for Ali (Episode 39) | I See Movies

  2. Pingback: Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – Will Smith’s Hilarious Accent (Episode 40) | I See Movies

  3. Pingback: ‘I See Movies’ Brief News Rally: 9/21 – 9/28 | I See Movies

  4. Pingback: Quick From Off The Shelf Reviews: ‘Iron Man 2’ (2010) & ‘The Final Destination’ (2009) | I See Movies

Leave a Reply

