‘Get Hard’ Review

‘Get Hard’ Review

First Words

I had high hopes for this movie seeing how I’m a big Will Ferrell fan and I find Kevin Hart to be hilarious. So this seemed like a movie destined to cause a massive amount of tears and some serious stomach pains from all the laughter. But as we all know, meeting such lofty expectations is pretty hard to do…unless the movie is ‘The Avengers’  but sorry, that was really random.

Plot

James King (Ferrell) is living the good life. He’s rich, has a beautiful fiancee, Alissa (the beautiful Alison Brie) and is expecting to get a huge promotion. His great life comes to an abrupt stop when he is arrested and sentenced to ten years in prison for fraud and embezzlement. Fearing he won’t survive, King hires his car washer Darnell (Hart), who he ASSUMES spent time behind bars, to prepare him for life in prison.

Yeah, I Liked That

‘Get Hard’ was clearly meant to be hilarious, not funny, but HILARIOUS based on the two people who star in it. While it didn’t meet the sky high expectations, it was still pretty funny throughout. One of my favorite scenes was the one that took place at the “flirtiest brunch” and then made its way into a bathroom stall. The humor isn’t nothing ground breaking. It just includes your typical “straight people acting gay” jokes. But it doesn’t matter because it was pretty hilarious. Another one of my favorite moments came in the form of a ‘Boyz n the Hood’ reference. When Darnell tells the lie of why he went to jail, his story is very similar to what happens in ‘Boyz n the Hood’. Once again, it was nothing ground breaking but me not expecting that, Hart’s delivery on top of King being the only one not in the know made it one of the movies more funnier moments.

With a movie like this, where it’s sole intent is to be funny, you got to expect that the story won’t be anything you’ll rush to tweet about or text your friends about (that’s me trying to sound like I’m current). In my opinion, it should just worry about not getting in the way of the funny and help guide the movie into some good funny moments. I mean if the story is great and does those things I just mentioned then my expectations are going to surpassed and I’m going to be fairly happy with what I just watched. Now if the movie isn’t that funny and the story stinks then we have a problem. Ok, what I’m trying to get at is that ‘Get Hard’ had a funny concept that could of panned out better but it tried to adjust the story to where it would make the movie funnier and was able to work at times. One example to help explain that poorly stated opinion deals with the arrest and court dealings for King. Those scenes seemed to be rushed through so that the potentially funny “Hart teaching Ferrell how to survive in prison” moments could get underway. That’s a smart move because that’s what most of the people, who came to watch the movie, want to hurry GH_D14_172.dng up and see. Another example is when King was trying to figure out who set him up. Not much time is spent on that part of the story and is figured out so easy. The easy discovery was done in joke form of course so I enjoyed that element. Thank goodness it was done that way because it was sooo obvious from the beginning. No spoilers though.

Yeah, I Didn’t Like That

Time to play devil’s advocate and sound a little picky and unsure of how I actually feel about parts of the movie. So I just got done talking about what I did like about the story. Now let me talk about what I didn’t like. I know I just mentioned how I liked how King’s arrest and court dealings were rushed through with good intentions but I feel before that, the plot took longer to get into than I thought it would. I know you have to set up the characters and give us an insight into their personalities so that the jokes will be funnier later but that part of the movie could of been summed up quicker and left more room for some more funny “teaching” moments. My feelings towards the the beginning of the movie is probably the reason why I enjoyed the rushing through of King’s legal stuff so much. Now onto another thing for me to play devil’s advocate with. I mentioned that I was glad the “plot twist” reveal was done quickly and in joke form but I still wish it wasn’t sooooo predictable. I’m a man who loves plot twists in movies usually but not the ones I can correctly guess from the jump. I said don’t expect too much from the story but you’ll do yourself a favor if you actually add some suspense to your “twist”.

I quickly mentioned earlier that ‘Get Hard’ didn’t meet my sky high expectations of being crazy hilarious. Yes the movie was funny throughout but it surprisingly didn’t capitalize on moments that would of made it funnier and inched it closer to my too high expectations (because meeting my expectations were soooo important to the peopleGet-Hard-Header behind the movie). One scene in particular that was a let down was when King and Darnell are in the “yard” and Darnell pretends to be three other “inmates” (their names being Leroy, Carlos and Donte just fyi). When Hart usually does impressions, I find it to be funny but this time that wasn’t the case. I don’t know why. Ferrell’s input wasn’t really funny either so maybe the combined letdown from the duo made the scene a dud. I might of found it funnier, though, if it didn’t last as long as it did. It just felt like it kept going and going and….going. It just couldn’t pick up steam in that too long of a scene. hen it comes to the overall “teaching” moments of the movie, in general, they were pretty freakin’ funny but I feel some chances were still missed to make it funnier. The movie doesn’t show that Darnell is lying about going to jail during the training that much. You would think that King would almost catch him in the lie throughout with Darnell doing or saying something funny to get out of it. Maybe that would be the predictable thing to do but I think in this instance, it would of heavily worked in favor of the movies comedy.

Last Words

‘Get Hard’ kind of reminds me of ‘Malibu’s Most Wanted’ but not as funny. Yes I actually think that Jamie Kennedy movie is hilarious, sue me. But anyways, you’re still in for a funny funny good time as long as you like to laugh at lowbrow, racist, “private part” jokes and explicit language randomly used in sentences to be funny. Please comment below with your thoughts on the movie.

RATING: Would Accept as a Gift

 

P.S. Once again here is my rating scale. There are four different levels. Below is each level in order from best to worse and what each one means.

Must Own = A movie that is so good that I must add it to my Blu-ray collection when it comes out.

Would Accept as a Gift = I enjoyed the movie but don’t necessarily have to buy it (especially if I don’t have the funds to) myself but I would take it if someone bought it for me.

Might Rent = A movie that if I have the urge to watch again then I’ll just rent it from somewhere or Netflix it.

Never See Again = Very simple. I don’t want to ever see this movie again.

 

(Photo Credit: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-Q2u_00SiAjc/VHCQaNw3RPI/AAAAAAAAAG0/O_t3cxLliAw/s1600/get_hard.jpg; Ray Subers http://www.boxofficemojo.com/news/?id=4051; Marc Ciafardini – http://goseetalk.com/advance-screening-passes-to-get-hard-in-san-antonio-tx/)

One thought on “‘Get Hard’ Review

  1. Pingback: My 2015 Complete Movie List: #39 – #30 | I See Movies

Leave a Reply

