2015 MTV Movie Award Predictions: The Outcome

2015 MTV Movie Award Predictions: The Outcome

The 2015 MTV Movie awards has now came and went and it’s now time to see how my predictions turned out (see the full breakdown of my predictions right here). But before we jump into that, I want to give my two cent on the show. First off, I thought Amy Schumer was pretty funny but the crowd didn’t seem to feel the same way. I heard a lot of silence for some of the jokes I was rollin’ at. Next, my guy Mark Sinclair (but some people might no him as Vin Diesel) decided to show off those singing skills while presenting. You know he was going to say something about his late friend/costar Paul Walker so it’s only right that he belt out some of that song at the end of ‘Furious 7’ that helped move civil human beings, across theaters worldwide, to tears. And lastly, congratulations to my girl Shailene Woodley for winning that Trailblazer award, the great Robert Downey Jr. for winning the Generation award and the hilarious Kevin Hart for winning the Comedic Genius award. With that said, MTV has to chill with giving out all these “special awards.” MTV shouldn’t have awards that aren’t given out on air. If they aren’t good enough to show then just don’t have them at all. Maybe if they weren’t too busy passing out more than one “special” award then maybe they would have the time. Or maybe cut down the run time on some of those performances. I’m just saying. You want it to be two hours which is great but you have all these things you want to do that is clearly meant for a longer show. It’s time to chop some stuff off. But anyways, let’s get to the outcome of my predictions.

Movie of the Year

Who I Thought Would Win: Guardians of the Galaxy

Who Actually Won: The Fault in Our Stars

Best Female Performance

Who I Thought Would Win: Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

Who Actually Won: Shailene Woodley, The Fault in Our Stars

Best Male Performance

Who I Thought Would Win: Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy

Who Actually Won: Bradley Cooper, American Sniper

Best Scared-As-S**t Performance

Who I Thought Would Win: Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

Who Actually Won: Jennifer Lopez, The Boy Next Door

Breakthrough Performance

Who I Thought Would Win: Ansel ElgortThe Fault in Our Stars

Who Actually Won: Dylan O’Brien, The Maze Runner

Best Shirtless Performance

Who I Thought Would Win: Zac Efron, Neighbors

Who Actually Won: Zac Efron, Neighbors

Best Duo

Who I Thought Would Win: Shailene Woodley & Ansel Elgort, The Fault in Our Stars

Who Actually Won: Zac Efron & Dave Franco, Neighbors

Best Fight

Who I Thought Would Win: Seth Rogen vs. Zac Efron, Neighbors

Who Actually Won: Dylan O’Brien vs. Will Poulter, The Maze Runner

Best Kiss

Who I Thought Would Win: Ansel Elgort & Shailene Woodley, The Fault in Our Stars

Who Actually Won: Ansel Elgort & Shailene Woodley, The Fault in Our Stars

Best WTF Moment

Who I Thought Would Win: Seth Rogen & Rose Byrne, Neighbors

Who Actually Won: Seth Rogen & Rose Byrne, Neighbors

Best Villain

Who I Thought Would Win: Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

Who Actually Won: Meryl Streep, Into the Woods

Best Musical Moment

Who I Thought Would Win: Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

Who Actually Won: Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

Best Comedic Performance

Who I Thought Would Win: Kevin Hart, The Wedding Ringer

Who Actually Won: Channing Tatum, 22 Jump Street

Best On-Screen Transformation

Who I Thought Would Win:  Zoe SaldanaGuardians of the Galaxy

Who Actually Won: Elizabeth Banks, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

 

Correct Predictions: 4/14

Well…that was pretty bad. I thought I kind of knew what the MTV crowd would be thinking but I was wrong. I knew The Fault in Our Stars and Neighbors would dominate but I still couldn’t pick all the right ones that they would win. I’m not even going to go in on the fact that there should NEVER be an award show where The Fault in Our Stars wins the best movie award. But anyways, this clearly means that I have to redeem myself because this was just sad. Hopefully next year I remember to do this and remember that I have to beat the atrocious 4/14 score. Feel free to comment below with your thoughts on the winners or on how awful my predictions were.

 

(Photo Credit: Bree Brouwer – http://www.tubefilter.com/2015/04/09/mtv-movie-awards-periscope-live-stream-all-access-unleash-camera/)

Leave a Reply

