‘Insurgent’ Review

First Words

I thought I was a pretty bad runner but I feel like I look like Usain Bolt compared to Ansel Elgort after seeing him run in ‘Insurgent’. That mans running is just a travesty to watch. He looks like he is trying soooooo hard and is sooooo tired from his first stride. He definitely needed a stunt double for his running scenes. I don’t care if they looked nothing like him. I’d much rather see this stranger running next to the other stars of the movie and then when the running stops, Mr. Elgort just appears like he was with them the whole time. OK…I just had to get that off my chest. Now let’s move on.

Plot

Sometime in the near future after the events in ‘Divergent’ (don’t really know how far in the future because I don’t believe it says which is annoying but I could of just not been paying attention when they did. if that is the case then my apologies), Tris (Shailene Woodley) and Four (Theo James) are on the run from Jeanine (Kate Winslet), her Erudite faction and the evil side of the Dauntless faction. Once Tris fears for the lives of those around her, she decides to confront Jeanine on her own. But when a mysterious box, that could effect their dystopian world, comes into play, Tris must figure out it’s importance.

Yeah, I Liked That

Since I was actually a fan of ‘Divergent’, I went into this movie with some anticipation behind it. It was even on my list of most anticipated movies for 2015. I have to say that I didn’t feel let down after it was all said and done. The excitement and entertainment value was upped this time around. ‘Insurgent’ got into the action early which included a cool fight scene that took place on a train against the factionless. Even though my girl Woodley doesn’t look too convincing as a fighter, it didn’t have a negative effect on how I viewed the scene. I enjoyed seeing this movie get a little dark with peoples arms getting broke and others getting thrown off the train. The action does feel like it dips inInsurgent-2015-1024x683 and out somewhat when the movies starts to take off but, as I said earlier, the excitement stays and is able to make up for it. Bullets are constantly flying, characters are constantly running, Miles Teller’s face gets smashed into some unbreakable glass and more happens to make it seem like stuff is always going on.

On top of what I mentioned above, I feel the darker tone the movie set compared to its predecessor raised the entertainment level for me (no matter how weird that sounds). For those who haven’t read the books (like me), a few of the killings come as a surprise. Not trying to spoil anything though. Just saying that who gets killed and how some of the characters get killed gave the tone of the movie a darker feel which was perfectly fine with me. I feel like I have to explain myself about how sick I probably sound with this “enjoying killings” talk…but I don’t really feel like it. I just like the surprise element those parts of the movie created. I quickly want to point out that ‘Insurgent’ felt entertaining throughout because it had more of a cinematic feel than ‘Divergent’ did. It’s kind of hard to explain but when I was watching it, I felt the scope of the movie was a lot broader and…I don’t know…shot on a better camera? Like I said I can’t really explain it but I have to give props to the director, Robert Schwentke. I’m surprised I’m saying that though because he did direct the knock off ‘Men in Black’…oops I mean ‘R.I.P.D.’.

Before I move on, let me give a quick shout-out to Woodley. Her performance wasn’t superb or anything but she did a good job with showing that Tris has been through a lot, in the past film, based off how her personality seemed to be noticeably different. She still showed her core traits but you could see differences here and there when it came to how she reacted to others and things like that. I mean she did see her mom and dad get killed right in front of her so you would think that someone would be, I don’t know, slightly effected by that. So congrats Woodley on doing what you were supposed to do.

Yeah, I Didn’t Like That

There were a few things in the movie I wasn’t really feeling too much. First off, I didn’t see the point of Tris’ part of the Candor serum scene. It seemed so forced because the information she was forced to tell in the scene wasn’t relevant in the movie going forward and honestly it wasn’t something she should of felt the need to hide. She should of just explained what she did and why she did it. The information given in the scene ends up being pointless so I should just “spoil” it here but I’m going to be nice and not do it.

On to my next complaint. I said earlier that I enjoyed the action and all but the CGI used for the simulation scenesinsurgent-trailer-1 was too strong and obvious at times. I enjoyed some parts of the simulation scenes and they looked like someone worked really hard editing them on some fancy computer but I was distracted a lot of the time by how obvious the CGI was. Of course we would of known the scenes used CGI regardless but you can still make it look less obvious. I’ve seen movies where more epic things happen in a scene but the CGI isn’t as strong and noticeable as it was here. Maybe the slow motion used at times in those scenes should of just be eliminated completely to help out their case.

Alright, now on to the last complaint I’m going to touch on. It took me a quick second after the movie ended for me to fully realize why dangerous simulations had to be done in order to try to get the mystery box open but I still don’t like the reason. I won’t spoil the reason here so you’ll just have to wait until you see the movie. But I just feel like when the reasoning for the box is given, a lot less dangerous things could have been done to open it up. So I would of liked to see some other reason for the box but as always, I could be just reaching for things to complain about.

Last Words

‘Insurgent’ is another step in the right direction for the ‘Divergent Series’ and hopefully the last book being split up into two movies doesn’t backfire like past history has shown it will. You probably had to like ‘Divergent’ to feel that way but hey I could be wrong. I will say that no matter how much I say I enjoy these ‘Divergent’ movies, it’s clear as day that they are the younger, less talented brother of ‘The Hunger Games’ movies. Just trying to not sound too fan girlish.

RATING: Would Accept as a Gift

 

P.S. Once again here is my rating scale. There are four different levels. Below is each level in order from best to worse and what each one means.

Must Own = A movie that is so good that I must add it to my Blu-ray collection when it comes out.

Would Accept as a Gift = I enjoyed the movie but don’t necessarily have to buy it (especially if I don’t have the funds to) myself but I would take it if someone bought it for me.

Might Rent = A movie that if I have the urge to watch again then I’ll just rent it from somewhere or Netflix it.

Never See Again = Very simple. I don’t want to ever see this movie again.

 

(Photo Credit: Molly Beauchemin – http://pitchfork.com/news/58765-woodkid-and-lykke-li-team-for-never-let-you-down-from-insurgent/; http://www.skyhdwallpaper.com/insurgent-movie-2015; Brad Brevet – http://www.ropeofsilicon.com/new-insurgent-trailer-shows-many-faces-shailene-woodley/)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

