The 1st ‘I See Movie’ Awards: And the Winners Are…

It’s finally time to announce the winners for The 1st ‘I See Movie’ Awards a.k.a. The Nates. I know everyone all over the world has been anticipating this as much as the official announcement of the next ‘Transformers’ movie. OK I’m slightly exaggerating but you get the point. Below you’ll see who won based on the readers votes (thanks to everyone who voted by the way. I appreciate the involvement) and who I personally have taking home the lovely eye shaped trophy. You might see some performances sprinkled between the announcements but don’t hold me to that. Alright, I’m going to stop talking and just get to it because I know that’s what every single person all over the world is thinking. So, once again, here are the winners for the 1st ever ‘I See Movie’ Awards!

Best Picture

  • ‘American Sniper’
  • ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’
  • ‘Dear White People’
  • ‘Enemy’
  • ‘Gone Girl’
  • ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’
  • ‘The Lego Movie’
  • ‘Neighbors’
  • ‘The Raid 2’
  • ‘Snowpiercer’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’

 

Now from the ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ soundtrack…

Best Director

  • David Fincher – ‘Gone Girl’
  • Alejandro González Iñárritu – ‘Birdman’
  • Richard Linklater – ‘Boyhood’
  • Anthony Russo, Joe Russo – ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’
  • Justin Simien – ‘Dear White People’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Alejandro González Iñárritu‘Birdman’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Alejandro González Iñárritu – ‘Birdman’

Best Actor

  • Chadwick Boseman – ‘Get On Up’
  • Bradley Cooper – ‘American Sniper’
  • Jake Gyllenhaal – ‘Nightcrawler’
  • Tom Hardy – ‘The Drop’
  • Chris Pratt – ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Bradley Cooper‘American Sniper’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Jake Gyllenhaal‘Nightcrawler’

Best Actress

  • Rose Byrne – ‘Neighbors’
  • Keira Knightley – ‘Laggies’
  • Jennifer Lawrence – ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1’
  • Rosamund Pike – ‘Gone Girl’
  • Tessa Thompson – ‘Dear White People’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Rosamund Pike‘Gone Girl’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Rosamund Pike – ‘Gone Girl’

Best Supporting Actor

  • Zac Efron – ‘Neighbors’
  • Michael Fassbender – ‘Frank’
  • Edward Norton – ‘Birdman’
  • Andy Serkis – ‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’
  • J.K. Simmons – ‘Whiplash’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: J.K. Simmons‘Whiplash’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Andy Serkis‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’

Best Supporting Actress

  • Emily Blunt – ‘Edge of Tomorrow’
  • Eva Green – ‘Sin City: A Dame to Kill For’
  • Sienna Miller – ‘American Sniper’
  • Rene Russo – ‘Nightcrawler’
  • Emma Stone – ‘Birdman’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Rene Russo – ‘Nightcrawler’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Eva Green‘Sin City: A Dame to Kill For’

Best Animated Movie

  • ‘Big Hero 6’
  • ‘Boxtrolls’
  • ‘How to Train Your Dragon 2’
  • ‘The Lego Movie’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘The Lego Movie’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘The Lego Movie’

 

Now from ‘The Lego Movie’ soundtrack…

Best Comedy

  • ’22 Jump Street’
  • ‘About Last Night’
  • ‘The Interview’
  • ‘Horrible Bosses 2’
  • ‘Neighbors’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ’22 Jump Street’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Neighbors’

 

Now from the ‘Neighbors’ soundtrack…

Best Action Movie

  • ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’
  • ‘John Wick’
  • ‘The Raid 2’
  • ‘Snowpiercer’
  • ‘X-Men: Days of Future Past’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘The Raid 2’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘The Raid 2’

Best Visual Effects

  • ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’
  • ‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’
  • ‘The Guardians of the Galaxy’
  • ‘Interstellar’
  • ‘Sin City: A Dame to Kill For’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: ‘The Guardians of the Galaxy’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: ‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’

Best Screenplay

  • Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Armando Bo – ‘Birdman’
  • Justin Simien – ‘Dear White People’
  • Gillian Flynn – ‘Gone Girl’
  • James Gunn, Nicole Perlman – ‘The Guardians of the Galaxy’
  • Dan Gilroy – ‘Nightcrawler’

And the Winner is…

Readers Choice: Alexander Dinelaris, Nicolás Giacobone, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Armando Bo – ‘Birdman’

‘I See Movies’ Choice: Dan Gilroy – ‘Nightcrawler’

Readers Scoreboard:

  • ‘Birdman’ (2)
  • ‘The Guardians of the Galaxy’ (2)
  • ’22 Jump Street’ (1)
  • ‘American Sniper’ (1)
  • ‘Gone Girl’ (1)
  • ‘The Lego Movie’ (1)
  • ‘Nightcrawler’ (1)
  • ‘The Raid 2’ (1)
  • ‘Whiplash’ (1)

‘I See Movies’ Scoreboard

  • ‘Dawn of the Planet of the Apes’ (2)
  • ‘Nightcrawler’ (2)
  • ‘Birdman’ (1)
  • ‘Captain America: The Winter Soldier’ (1)
  • ‘Gone Girl’ (1)
  • ‘The Lego Movie’ (1)
  • ‘Neighbors’ (1)
  • ‘The Raid 2’ (1)
  • ‘Sin City: A Dame to Kill For’ (1)

 

Well I was surprised to see that the readers and I actually agreed on a few awards. But anyways, congrats to all the winners. Those who weren’t able to make it to the ceremony to accept your award, I will ship it out to you as soon as I can. Once again, thanks to everyone who voted or just thought about voting but didn’t actually vote. I plan to do this again next year so tweet me, email me or however you want to get at me and let me know throughout the year who you think should be nominated. Also comment below with your thoughts on my choices, the readers choices and whatever else you want to touch on. I’m finally done reflecting on 2014. Time to fully focus on 2015.

2 thoughts on “The 1st ‘I See Movie’ Awards: And the Winners Are…

Add yours

  1. Interesting choices. It seems that you have more emphasis on blockbusters, which is perfectly fine. I do like that you gave some recognition to Snowpiercer and Nightcrawler because those films have been mostly ignored when it comes to major award ceremonies. I think Whiplash and Boyhood could have squeezed in a bit more here but that’s just my opinion. Thanks for pingbacking to my Whiplash review!

    1. I do like me an entertaining blockbuster but I love the smaller movies as well but this year the bigger ones just got to me more. Whiplash and Boyhood were really good though and I enjoyed your Whiplash review as well. But Snowpiercer is probably one of the most underrated movies of the year and Nightcrawler has the best performance I seen from Jake Gyllenhaal so I don’t know, either, why those movies have been so ignored.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

