2015 MTV Movie Award Predictions

Y’all thought the best movie award show already passed this year but booooy were y’all wrong. Yes that’s right, the MTV Movie Awards are waaaaay better than the little ol’ Academy Awards. If you don’t agree then…you’re probably right. Alright enough playing around, lets get down to business. So every year I’m usually pretty accurate at guessing what the group of people who actually vote for MTV  award shows are feeling and who they’re going to vote to win in all the categories. But this year I’m not feeling so comfortable. Usually their young trendy opinions are easy to guess but not this year. Man I sound way older than I am but anyways I decided to give my prediction on who will win in each category, NOT who I think should win. Alright, so here I go. Time to put myself in the UGGs of a teenage girl or the Jordans of a teenage boy (I honestly just said some popular footwear brands. I don’t know whats hot out here).

Movie of the Year

American Sniper
The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1
Guardians of the Galaxy
Gone Girl
The Fault in Our Stars
Boyhood
Whiplash
Selma

Who Will Win: Guardians of the Galaxy

I wanted to go with The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1 because it’s so popular among young people who read the books and/or saw the movie. But Guardians of the Galaxy was just so awesome and beloved by everyone that I think it gets the win here. The Fault in Our Stars is that underdog you got to look out for because we all know there were soooo many young girls walking into that movie with full tissue boxes and walking out with empty ones. I am surprised that Selma is nominated though. Not saying MTV is racist or anything but we all know that they’re just trying to get some “that’s a good look” points with that. People did love the movie so don’t listen to me.

Best Female Performance

Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1
Emma Stone, Birdman
Shailene Woodley, The Fault in Our Stars
Reese Witherspoon, Wild
Scarlett Johansson, Lucy

Who Will Win: Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 12014, THE HUNGER GAMES -  MOCKINGJAY

Everyone loves Jennifer Lawrence (including me) so she got this in the bag. Watch out for Shailene Woodley though. These people starring in these young adult novel movies (as I’m going to call them) become popular among the young crowd (I’m still sounding super old). She’s the star of the Divergent Series so those fans might turn out and vote too. I’m a fan of both so I honestly don’t care who wins.

Best Male Performance

Bradley Cooper, American Sniper
Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy
Ansel Elgort, The Fault in Our Stars
Miles Teller, Whiplash
Channing Tatum, Foxcatcher

Who Will Win: Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy

2014 was dominated by my boy Chris Pratt with Guardians of the Galaxy and The Lego Movie so I think he’ll beat out the awkward looking Ansel Elgort. No offense though.

Best Scared-As-S**t Performance

Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Annabelle Wallis, Annabelle
Jennifer Lopez, The Boy Next Door
Dylan O’Brien, The Maze Runner
Zach Gilford, The Purge: Anarchy

Who Will Win: Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

I really don’t know how to guess this one because I don’t know how to guess how much better someone thinks someone acted scared compared to someone else. I don’t even think that sentence made sense. But anyways, I’m just going to go with the person who starred in the most popular movie of the nominees.

Breakthrough Performance

Ansel Elgort, The Fault in Our Stars
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
David Oyelowo, Selma
Dylan O’Brien, The Maze Runner
Ellar Coltrane, Boyhood

Who Will Win: Ansel Elgort, The Fault in Our Stars

I feel like those who found themselves wiping a massive amount of tears off their face will make sure young awkward looking Elgort gets the W. He clearly didn’t have the best performance of  the nominees but now is not the time to argue that.

Best Shirtless Performance

Zac Efron, Neighbors
Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy
Channing Tatum, Foxcatcher
Ansel Elgort, The Fault in Our Stars
Kate Upton, The Other Woman

Who Will Win: Zac Efron, Neighbors

I think Zacy E is going to get the win. Ladies been in love with Zac so it’s a no brainer. You can’t go wrong with him or Pratt though…yeah I said it.

Best Duo

Channing Tatum & Jonah Hill, 22 Jump Street
Zac Efron & Dave Franco, Neighbors
Shailene Woodley & Ansel Elgort, The Fault in Our Stars
Bradley Cooper & Vin Diesel, Guardians of the Galaxy
James Franco & Seth Rogen, The Interview

Who Will Win: Shailene Woodley & Ansel Elgort, The Fault in Our Stars

I don’t know how much more I can make it clear that people really had their emotional strings tugged on while watching The Fault in Our Stars (not me though) so their stars are going to reap the benefits.

Best Fight

Jonah Hill vs. Jillian Bell, 22 Jump Street
Chris Evans vs. Sebastian Stan, Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Dylan O’Brien vs. Will Poulter, The Maze Runner
Seth Rogen vs. Zac Efron, Neighbors
Edward Norton vs. Michael Keaton, Birdman

Who Will Win: Seth Rogen vs. Zac Efron, NeighborsNeighbors-Movie-Seth-Rogen-Zac-Efron

This fight had the star power and it brought plenty of laughs so I think it will be the favorite of the voters. And of course, Efron is involved so…ya know.

Best Kiss

Ansel Elgort & Shailene Woodley, The Fault in Our Stars
James Franco & Seth Rogen, The Interview
Andrew Garfield & Emma Stone, The Amazing Spider-Man 2
Scarlett Johansson & Chris Evans, Captain America: The Winter Soldier
Rose Byrne & Halston Sage, Neighbors

Who Will Win: Ansel Elgort & Shailene Woodley, The Fault in Our Stars

Once again I don’t know how much clearer I can make it…hopefully I wrong though.

Best WTF Moment

Seth Rogen & Rose Byrne, Neighbors
Jonah Hill, 22 Jump Street
Jason Sudeikis & Charlie Day, Horrible Bosses 2
Miles Teller, Whiplash
Rosario Dawson & Anders Holm, Top Five

Who Will Win: Seth Rogen & Rose Byrne, Neighbors

I can honestly say I don’t exactly know what scenes these nominations are referring to. I could probably guess but I don’t feel like doing that so I’m just going to go with the one from Neighbors because I feel like it’s going to be a Neighbors and The Fault in Our Stars type of night.

Best Villain

Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
J.K. Simmons, Whiplash
Jillian Bell, 22 Jump Street
Meryl Streep, Into the Woods
Peter Dinklage, X-Men: Days of Future Past

Who Will Win: Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

No one can deny that J.K. Simmons killed it in Whiplash but I just feel like the person in the more popular movie will win out between him and Pike.

Best Musical Moment

Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1
Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy
Seth Rogen & Zac Efron, Neighbors
Bill Hader & Kristen Wiig, The Skeleton Twins
Miles Teller, Whiplash

Who Will Win: Jennifer Lawrence, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1

You know you was walking out of the theater singing that little catchy, depressing sounding tune that Lawrence was singing so beautifully, might I add. So go ahead and let her get the victory. It’s only right.

Best Comedic Performance

Channing Tatum, 22 Jump Street
Chris Pratt, Guardians of the Galaxy
Rose Byrne, Neighbors
Chris Rock, Top Five
Kevin Hart, The Wedding Ringer

Who Will Win: Kevin Hart, The Wedding RingerKevin-Hart-in-The-Wedding-Ringer_article_story_large

People from every crowd seem to love Kevin Hart so I think he’ll get the win here, come up on stage and give a funny speech with his Kevin Hart style of comedy which shockingly hasn’t gotten old yet (well at least in my opinion).

Best On-Screen Transformation

Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything
Elizabeth Banks, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1
Zoe Saldana Guardians of the Galaxy
Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
Ellar Coltrane, Boyhood

Who Will Win: Zoe SaldanaGuardians of the Galaxy

I think people will struggle on who to choose for this one so, once again, they’ll go with someone from one of the more popular movies. So I’m guessing Zoe Saldana, why not.

 

I seem very confident that I’m going to get at least 99.9% of these predictions right but something is telling me that I might actually on get 99.4% right. I guess I’ll take either. If I can successfully think like someone who is young and not the 63 year old man I’m accidentally claiming to be then congrats to me. If I can’t then maybe I am actually am 63 years old. Guess we’ll find on April 12th, 2015. Comment below with your predictions or just to say how much you really don’t care.

 

(Photo Credit: http://inagist.com/all/573389649852252160/; Sportsphoto Ltd./Allstar; Ben Kendrick – http://screenrant.com/neighbors-movie-2014-reviews/; Andrew Johnson – http://moviemezzanine.com/the-wedding-ringer-review/)

One thought on “2015 MTV Movie Award Predictions

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

