2015 Academy Award Predictions: The Outcome

The Academy Awards just slowly passed (I say slowly because it seemed like it lasted forever) so that means it’s time to see how my predictions turned out. If you haven’t already read my predictions, you can check them out right here. Before you read on and check out the scoreboard, let me just say that things might get pretty ugly and I might look pretty clueless. But those could also just be rumors. Let’s see.

Best Motion Picture

Who I Wanted to Win: American Sniper

Who I Thought Would Win: Boyhood

Who Actually Won: Birdman

Best Director

Who I Wanted to Win: Alejandro G. IñárrituBirdman

Who I Thought Would Win: Richard LinklaterBoyhood

Who Actually Won: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Birdman

Best Actor

Who I Wanted to Win: Michael KeatonBirdman

Who I Thought Would Win: Michael Keaton, Birdman

Who Actually Won: Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Best Actress

Who I Wanted to Win: Rosamund PikeGone Girl

Who I Thought Would Win: Julianne MooreStill Alice

Who Actually Won: Julianne Moore, Still Alice

Best Supporting Actor

Who I Wanted to Win: Edward NortonBirdman

Who I Thought Would Win: J.K. SimmonsWhiplash

Who Actually Won: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best Supporting Actress

Who I Wanted to Win: Emma StoneBirdman

Who I Thought Would Win: Patricia ArquetteBoyhood

Who Actually Won:Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Best Animated Feature

Who I Wanted to Win: The Lego Movie

Who I Thought Would Win: How to Train Your Dragon 2

Who Actually Won: Big Hero 6

Best Film Editing

Who I Wanted to Win: Boyhood

Who I Thought Would Win: Boyhood

Who Actually Won: Whiplash

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Who I Wanted to Win: Guardians of the Galaxy

Who I Thought Would Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Who Actually Won: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Original Score

Who I Wanted to Win: Hans ZimmerInterstellar

Who I Thought Would Win: Jóhann JóhannssonThe Theory of Everything

Who Actually Won: Alexandre DesplatThe Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Original Song

Who I Wanted to Win: Shawn Patterson“Everything Is Awesome” (The Lego Movie)

Who I Thought Would Win: John Legend & Common, “Glory” (Selma)

Who Actually Won: John Legend & Common, “Glory” (Selma)

Best Production Design

Who I Wanted to Win: Interstellar

Who I Thought Would Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Who Actually Won: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Sound Editing

Who I Wanted to Win: Interstellar

Who I Thought Would Win: Birdman

Who Actually Won: American Sniper

Best Visual Effects

Who I Wanted to Win: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

Who I Thought Would Win: Interstellar

Who Actually Won: Interstellar

Best Adapted Screenplay

Who I Wanted to Win: Damien Chazelle, Whiplash

Who I Thought Would Win: Anthony McCarten, The Theory of Everything

Who Actually Won: Graham Moore, The Imitation Game

Best Original Screenplay

Who I Wanted to Win: Dan GilroyNightcrawler

Who I Thought Would Win:  Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo, Birdman

Who Actually Won: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo, Birdman

 

Who I Wanted to Win Correct Predictions: 1/16

Who I Thought Would Win Correct Predictions: 8/16

Wow…I was awful either way. I should be banned from making predictions for next years show but that isn’t going to happen. I’m already going to predict (yeah I’m already making another prediction) that I’m going to do much better next year; I can feel it! Anyway, comment below on how your predictions turned out or to just bash my awful predictions.

 

(Photo Credit: Ankita Mehta – http://www.ibtimes.co.in/oscars-2015-nominations-host-date-other-details-academy-awards-624215)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

