2015 Academy Award Predictions

OK the dust has kind of settled on all the outrage over the nominations for this years Oscars. So it’s the perfect time for me to jump in and give my predictions on how it’s all going to play out (OK not ALL because I’m not going to be making predictions on every category). I’ll be doing it the same way I did my Golden Globe predictions. I did very well when I predicted with my head but not when I predicted with my heart. Hopefully this time around my personal preferences will turn into actual winners. I guess we’ll see come February 22nd, 2015 when ‘The 87th Academy Awards’ will air. But for right now, lets go ahead on with my 2015 Academy Award predictions.

Best Motion Picture

  • American Sniper
  • Birdman
  • Boyhood
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • The Imitation Game
  • Selma
  • The Theory of Everything
  • Whiplash

Who I Want to Win: American Sniper

American Sniper is one of my favorite movies from 2014 so of course I would like to see it win ‘Best Picture’. It had great acting, entertaining war action (shootouts and etc.) and violence, and an entertaining storyline so I feel it’s more than deserving of taking home the nights big prize.

Who I Think Will Win: Boyhood

Best Director

  • Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Birdman
  • Richard Linklater, Boyhood
  • Bennett Miller, Foxcatcher
  • Morten Tyldum, The Imitation Game

Who I Want to Win: Alejandro G. IñárrituBirdman

The technique used by Alejandro G. Iñárritu where he uses the allusion of the movie having almost no cuts to switch between scenes was just beautiful to watch. It made the movie have such a lovely flow that it’s probably my favorite thing about the movie (that and Emma Stone of course). That reason alone should give Iñárritu the win.

Who I Think Will Win: Richard LinklaterBoyhood

Best Actor

  • Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
  • Bradley Cooper, American Sniper
  • Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
  • Michael Keaton, Birdman
  • Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Who I Want to Win: Michael KeatonBirdmandownload (1)

Since there is no Jake Gyllenhaal here, I’ll go with Michael Kenton. He did a great job in Birdman with handling such a mentally fragile character. I didn’t see one scene where his performance mad me go “Wow” but his consistency and how he just owned the character with the realism he brought to it is why he gets my choice here. Also, you got to reward big comeback performances like this sometimes.

Who I Think Will Win: Michael Keaton, Birdman

Best Actress

  • Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night
  • Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
  • Julianne Moore, Still Alice
  • Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
  • Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Who I Want to Win: Rosamund PikeGone Girl

Rosamund Pike played a complete psycho so well in Gone Girl. She played “Amazing Amy” so well that you might think she’s actually that crazy in real life. Pike’s performance was the best by far in one of my favorite movies of 2014 and her performance is one of my favorites from 2014 overall so go ahead and toss her the trophy.

Who I Think Will Win: Julianne MooreStill Alice

Best Supporting Actor

  • Robert Duvall, The Judge
  • Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
  • Edward Norton, Birdman
  • Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
  • J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Who I Want to Win: Edward NortonBirdman

This was a tough decision but I had to go with the best performance from the best acting ensemble of 2014. Edward Norton was outstanding as basically a diva Broadway star. His verbal altercations with Keaton and Stone were all entertaining to watch and a lot of the time, you could say Norton came out as the winner in terms of performance.

Who I Think Will Win: J.K. SimmonsWhiplash

Best Supporting Actress

  • Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
  • Laura Dern, Wild
  • Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
  • Emma Stone, Birdman
  • Meryl Streep, Into the Woods

Who I Want to Win: Emma Stone, Birdman

Stone showed she is a great actress once again by holding her own with all the other great actors that starred along side her in Birdman. But besides all the good she did in the movie, I’m just kind of biased right now because I’m a huge fan of hers so I would love for her to take home an Oscar. If she doesn’t win one now, she’ll definitely have plenty more chances to do it in the future.

Who I Think Will Win: Patricia ArquetteBoyhood

Best Animated Feature

  • Big Hero 6
  • The Boxtrolls
  • How to Train Your Dragon 2
  • Song of the Sea
  • The Tale of the Princess Kaguya

Who I Want to Win: The Lego Movie

I still refuse to believe that the clear BEST ANIMATED MOVIE from 2014 didn’t get nominated for an Oscar! That is just baffling to me. It’s one of the more baffling things that I’ve seen occur in awhile. Seriously though!? You can go ahead and disrespect it by nominating it but not giving it the win but to not even nominate it is beyond disrespectful…it’s a travesty! The Oscars lost some stature points because of this.

Who I Think Will Win: How to Train Your Dragon 2

Best Film Editing

  • American Sniper
  • Boyhood
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • The Imitation Game
  • Whiplash

Who I Want to Win: Boyhood

The simple fact that Boyhood was shot over 12 years, and that makes it difficult to decide what to keep and what not to keep, is the reason why it has the edge here. Yes the movie was almost three hours but it sped up and stopped at all the right moments to fully capture the growth and struggles of all the characters. Editing played a big part in making sure all that worked out well.

Who I Think Will Win: Boyhood

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

  • Foxcatcher
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Guardians of the Galaxy

Who I Want to Win: Guardians of the Galaxyguardians-galaxy-nebula-karen-gillan

I got to go with the Marvel movie right here. It also deserves it though because a lot of the characters were made to look all alien-like without CGI and it all looked well done. I don’t know much about makeup and whatnot but I do know the work in this movie didn’t remind me of any of them awful looking movies from back in the day that used makeup like crazy since the technology that we have now wasn’t available then.

Who I Think Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Original Score

  • Alexandre Desplat, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Alexandre Desplat, The Imitation Game
  • Jóhann Jóhannsson, The Theory of Everything
  • Gary Yershon, Mr. Turner
  • Hans Zimmer, Interstellar

Who I Want to Win: Hans ZimmerInterstellar

I’m a Hans Zimmer fan and once again he created another epic, haunting score for Interstellar so I like to see him get the win. But as I write this, the only other movie I’ve seen on this list is The Grand Budapest Hotel and I wasn’t too impressed by the score so it leaves my options really limited. I would still go with Zimmer no matter what though to be honest.

Who I Think Will Win: Jóhann JóhannssonThe Theory of Everything

Best Original Song

  • Gregg Alexander and Danielle Brisebois, “Lost Stars” (Begin Again)
  • John Legend & Common, “Glory” (Selma)
  • Shawn Patterson, “Everything Is Awesome” (The Lego Movie)
  • Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond, “I’m Not Gonna Miss You” (Glen Campbell…I’ll Be Me)
  • Diane Warren, “Grateful” (Beyond the Lights)

Who I Want to Win: Shawn Patterson“Everything Is Awesome” (The Lego Movie)

The chorus alone is the reason why this song should get the win. It’s so catchy and still, almost a year later, has people of all ages reciting the lyrics and probably don’t even realize they’re doing it. I know I randomly just blurt them out sometimes whenever I’m doing anything. The Lego Movie better not get disrespected even more.

Who I Think Will Win: John Legend & Common, “Glory” (Selma)

Best Production Design

  • The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • The Imitation Game
  • Interstellar
  • Into the Woods
  • Mr. Turner

Who I Want to Win: Interstellar

I based my decision for this category on which movie I see being the best to look at and with that said I have to go with Interstellar. All aspects of Interstellar looked cool whether there was special effects being used or not.

Who I Think Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Sound Editing

  • American Sniper
  • Birdman
  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
  • Interstellar
  • Unbroken

Who I Want to Win: Interstellar

When I first watched Interstellar, I noticed that sometimes when the characters would talk, the music playing over them was so loud that it made it hard for their words to be heard. I didn’t really like that but then I read Christopher Nolan’s reason on why that was and then I respected the decision (Read his reason right here). I like to reward those who take risks for good reason so that’s why I would go with Interstellar for this award.

Who I Think Will Win: Birdman

Best Visual Effects

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Interstellar
  • X-Men: Days of Future Past

Who I Want to Win: Dawn of the Planet of the Apes1396985361008-09-ss036-0180-v157-le1077

If there is any way to reward the great work done on Dawn of the Planet of the Apes then you got to go with it. The visual work to make those apes look so real is amazing. Since the Oscars refuse to celebrate the actors motion-capture performances (I’m sticking up for you Andy Serkis) then go ahead and at least reward them with this award.

Who I Think Will Win: Interstellar

Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Paul Thomas Anderson, Inherent Vice
  • Damien Chazelle, Whiplash
  • Jason Hall, American Sniper
  • Anthony McCarten, The Theory of Everything
  • Graham Moore, The Imitation Game

Who I Want to Win: Damien Chazelle, Whiplash

Whiplash isn’t my favorite movie of these nominees (it was still a great movie though) but I feel the strongest part of the movie was the dialogue between the characters and you have to give the script props for that. The dialogue helped build the tension, intensity and the humor for the movie and it did it at an entertaining level.

Who I Think Will Win: Anthony McCarten, The Theory of Everything

Best Original Screenplay

  • Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo, Birdman
  • E. Max Frye and Dan Futterman, Foxcatcher
  • Dan Gilroy, Nightcrawler
  • Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Who I Want to Win: Dan GilroyNightcrawler

All the words that come out of Gyllenhaal’s mouth in Nightcrawler grab you and keeps your attention for the entire movie. A lot of that has do with the exceptional performance he put on but it also has to do with the great script that was provided for him. So if I show love to Gyllenhaal and his performance then I also have to show some love to the man that wrote the script he was using and that mans name is Dan Gilroy (who also directed the movie).

Who I Think Will Win: Alejandro G. Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Jr. & Armando Bo, Birdman

 

Who I Want to Win Numbers:

  • Birdman (4)
  • Interstellar (3)
  • The Lego Movie (2)
  • American Sniper (1)
  • Boyhood (1)
  • Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (1)
  • Gone Girl (1)
  • Guardians of the Galaxy (1)
  • Nightcrawler (1)
  • Whiplash (1)

Who I Think Will Win Numbers:

  • Boyhood (4)
  • Birdman (3)
  • The Grand Budapest Hotel (2)
  • The Theory of Everything (2)
  • How to Train Your Dragon 2 (1)
  • Interstellar (1)
  • Selma (1)
  • Still Alice (1)
  • Whiplash (1)

Either way, I (once again) see Birdman being one of the big winners. Also, if I had my way, Interstellar would be one of the big winners come the end of Oscar night. I’ll have to do a comparison after the actual award show ends to see how right (or wrong) my predictions were. Now if you disagree with my picks, comment below and give me your choices. If you agree with me, go ahead and tell me how right you think I am.

 

(Photo Credit: Gary Susman – http://news.moviefone.com/2014/12/29/oscars-2015-five-myths-about-the-academy-vote/; Anne Thompson – http://blogs.indiewire.com/thompsononhollywood/santa-barbara-film-festival-awards-modern-master-goes-to-birdman-star-michael-keaton-20141021; H. Shaw-Williams – http://screenrant.com/guardians-galaxy-early-reviews/;http://planetoftheapes.wikia.com/wiki/File:1396985361008-09-ss036-0180-v157-le1077.jpg)

4 thoughts on “2015 Academy Award Predictions

Add yours

  1. Great post! I think your predictions for who will win are prety spot on, especially in the major categories. Though right now it’s still a Boyhood vs. Birdman race and I’m really unsure if one will take it all or not. It used to be completely unheard of that the Best Director and the Best Picture didn’t sync up, but looking at the past years it seems like it’s likely they’ll split again (I’m predicting a Boyhood for Best Picture and Inarritu for Best Director). Anyway, loved the post!

    1. Thanks, appreciate it.

      And I really hope that Inarritu wins for Best Director. He definitely deserves it but yeah I completely forgot to pay attention to past occurrences. It does seem like both movies will be awarded a big prize though. I can’t wait to see if we’ll see a lot of differences from the Golden Globes.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

