2015 Golden Globe Predictions: The Outcome

2015 Golden Globe Predictions: The Outcome

So we all know that the 2015 Golden Globes just happened (or not, depending on when you’re reading this). Since the show is over, there is only two things to do: wait for the more important awards show to release their nominations (the Oscars) and to look at how those early predictions turned out. I’m going to focus on the latter here. I made my Golden Globe predictions not too long ago but I also gave my personal preference on who I wanted to win (you can take a look at those predictions and explanations right here). Now that we know who the winners are, I want to see how far off I was with who I wanted to win and who I thought would win compared to who actually won. Maybe I’ll look like a genius or maybe I’ll look like an idiot. Lets see.

BEST MOTION PICTURE, DRAMA

Who I Wanted to Win: Boyhood

Who I Thought Would Win: Boyhood

Who Actually Won: Boyhood

BEST ACTRESS, MOTION PICTURE, DRAMA

Who I Wanted to Win: Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl

Who I Thought Would Win: Julianne Moore, Still Alice

Who Actually Won: Julianne Moore, Still Alice

BEST ACTOR, MOTION PICTURE DRAMA

Who I Wanted to Win: Jake Gyllenhaal, Nightcrawler

Who I Thought Would Win: Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Who Actually Won: Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

BEST DIRECTOR

Who I Wanted to Win: Alejandro González Iñárritu, Birdman

Who I Thought Would Win: Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Who Actually Won: Richard Linklater, Boyhood

BEST MOTION PICTURE, MUSICAL OR COMEDY

Who I Wanted to Win: Birdman

Who I Thought Would Win: Birdman

Who Actually Won: The Grand Budapest Hotel

BEST ACTRESS, MOTION PICTURE, MUSICAL OR COMEDY

Who I Wanted to Win: Emily Blunt, Into the Woods

Who I Thought Would Win: AmyAdamsBig Eyes

Who Actually Won: Amy Adams, Big Eyes

BEST ACTOR, MOTION PICTURE, MUSICAL OR COMEDY

Who I Wanted to Win: Michael Keaton, Birdman

Who I Thought Would Win: Michael Keaton, Birdman

Who Actually Won: Michael Keaton, Birdman

BEST SCREENPLAY, MOTION PICTURE

Who I Wanted to Win: Gone Girl

Who I Thought Would Win: Birdman

Who Actually Won: Birdman

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR, MOTION PICTURE

Who I Wanted to Win: Edward Norton, Birdman

Who I Thought Would Win:  J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Who Actually Won: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS, MOTION PICTURE

Who I Wanted to Win: Emma Stone, Birdman

Who I Thought Would Win: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

Who Actually Won: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM

Who I Wanted to Win: The Lego Movie

Who I Thought Would Win: The Lego Movie

Who Actually Won: How to Train Your Dragon 2

I have to say something right here. This was a complete robbery. Don’t get me wrong, How to Train Your Dragon 2 was a great movie but it was not as good as The Lego Movie. Not only was it the best animated movie of the year but it was one of the best movies of the year period. I really hope the Oscars get this one right. But congrats to How to Train Your Dragon 2 though.

BEST ORIGINAL SONG

Who I Wanted to Win: Tegan and Sara, “Everything Is Awesome” (The Lego Movie)

Who I Thought Would Win: Lorde, “Yellow Flicker Beat” (The Hunger Games: Mockingjay — Part I)

Who Actually Won: John Legend & Common, “Glory” (Selma)

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE

Who I Wanted to Win: Hans Zimmer, Interstellar

Who I Thought Would Win: Antonio Sanchez, Birdman

Who Actually Won: Johann Johannsson, The Theory of Everything

 

Who I Wanted to Win Correct Predictions: 2/13

Who I Thought Would Win Correct Predictions: 9/13

Well clearly, when I think with my heart, I’m not too smart when it comes to these predictions but when I think with my head…well I’m pretty much a genius. Hopefully my Oscar predictions fare much better in both of these categories. Comment below if you have anything to say about this years Golden Globes.

 

(Photo Credit: Sam – http://thatgrapejuice.net/entertainment/2014/12/2015-golden-globe-awards-nominations-selma-annie-orange-black-land-multiple-nods/

One thought on “2015 Golden Globe Predictions: The Outcome

  1. Pingback: 2015 Golden Globe Predictions | I See Movies

Leave a Reply

