My 2014 Complete Movie List: #80 – #71

My 2014 Complete Movie List: #80 – #71

Here are the movies that came in at #80 – #71 on my complete movie list for 2014. Oh boy, we’re zipping through this list!

80. Maleficent

I know this is supposed to be a family friendly movie but I really didn’t like how Maleficent (Angelina Jolie) was a villain in the movie for like five seconds. I definitely didn’t like how she saves the day in the end. I’m fine with stories be retold in different ways but I don’t always have to like the new ideas. I will say the visuals were nice to look at though.

79. Deliver Us From Evil

It was not your typical exorcism movie. In fact when it went the exorcism route at the end, the movie became less interesting. The cop drama to go along with demonic beings played out as a pretty cool concept but the slow nature much of the film held it back quite a bit. Also, the movie showed an extreme hatred for cats by pointing guns at them and showing a dead crucified one so that alone knocks the movie down on my list. I don’t play that disrespect!

78. Before I Go To Sleep

I didn’t expect much from this movie since I barely saw any promo for it. I just assumed it was filmed a million yearsBefore-I-Go-To-Sleep ago, got shelved and then was finally released. But anyways, the movie was better than expected. A big reasons its this low is because it is so forgettable. Nothing stood out but I do know I somewhat enjoyed what I watched thanks to a plot that tried to rip off the classic ‘Memento’ (but failed to work anywhere close to it of course). The twist at the end could be seen coming from a mile away but I liked that they still went for what they thought was a “surprising” twist. Man I’m a sucker for twists.

77. The Gambler

Read my review here.

76. Draft Day

I enjoyed the behind the scenes, office side of sports this movie offered but the movie could of found a more entertaining and faster paced way to give it to me. Unfortunately I don’t have any suggestions on how it could of did that though. Also, the trades that were happening at the end of the movie were so ridiculous, it reminded me way too much that I was watching a movie. At least try to get a little closer to how actual GM’s make maneuvers.

75. RoboCop

I thought this was going to be an action packed reboot but instead I just got a mini roller coaster ride. The movie started out OK but you could tell it was building up to a cool second half, which we got. Then things just went through the motions in the third act as it made its way to the finish line. I don’t know if the mini roller coaster metaphor makes sense anymore but you get my point. I don’t expect to see a franchise arise from this which kind of sucks because I would like to see the RoboCop character have a good showing after being gone for several years. Oh well, the people behind this movie should of got it right the first time around.

74. Think Like A Man, Too

I didn’t mean to put 2 Kevin Hart movies so close together, it just happened that way. But anyway, this sequel was much more sub par than its predecessor, which surprised me at how good it actually was. The whole film seemed forced with each set of couples in the movie having forced challenges in their relationships that didn’t seemed written or developed well enough for me to care. Zeke (Romany Malco) and Maya’s (Meagan Good) relationship struggles especially seemed forced. At times I would forget why she was even upset and then get a little annoyed when I remembered the reason. I personally am a fan of Malco’s but yeah even he couldn’t save that part of the film. Other than that, the film had several parts that I chuckled at and kept me somewhat entertained so I was content when the movie was over. I just wished the quality was a little closer to the first go around. Maybe having the movie take place Las Vegas constricted things as it seems to do with movies ever since ‘The Hangover’ came out and slayed.

73. Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day

If I was around the age where I didn’t have much worries besides what toy I was going to play with next then I wouldalexander-and-the-terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad-day-cast-pi have really enjoyed this movie. Since I’m not at that age anymore, the movie was pretty decent. It didn’t make me laugh much and the story wasn’t outstanding by any means but I didn’t feel like I wasted an hour and a half of my time. I actually enjoyed it somewhat. The character of Alexander, though, acted a little too immature for a kid whose life pretty much sucked up until the end of the movie. I’m just saying. That kind of annoyed me for some reason.

72. Ride Along

I first must point out that this movie stars my long lost twin brother, Ice Cube. Alright, just had to let everyone know that. Now on to my opinion. The movie seemed like it would be hilarious with the partnering of Ice Cube with, the on fire, Kevin Hart doing their version of a buddy cop movie. The final outcome turned out to be a letdown thanks to a lack of laughs this should of been hilarious movie had.

71. Nymphomaniac Pt. 1

This movie felt very slow and bland for a movie that had its adult oriented premise. Before even seeing the movie, I liked the idea of having your main character tell her past to a stranger after he saved her from being left out in the cold after being beaten. It sounds weird when I type it out but I mean what I said. But anyways, that part of the story ended up not living up whatever I thought it was going to be. Some instances of dialogue and the acting ended up being the bright spot of this movie. I actually thought this movie was not bad at all and wanted to see part 2 but this first part wasn’t strong enough for me to make sure I see it by any means…or just whenever I’m in the mood to watch something I haven’t seen before.

 

My 2014 Complete Movie List: #90 – #81 | My 2014 Complete Movie List: #70 – #61

(Photo Credit: Dale Robinette; http://brightestyoungthings.com/articles/movie-review-before-i-go-to-sleep.htm; Joel D. Amos – http://www.moviefanatic.com/2014/10/alexander-and-the-terrible-horrible-no-good-very-bad-day-review/)

2 thoughts on “My 2014 Complete Movie List: #80 – #71

  1. Pingback: My 2014 Complete Movie List: #70 – #61 | I See Movies

  2. Pingback: My 2014 Complete Movie List: #90 – #81 | I See Movies

Leave a Reply

