My 2014 Complete Movie List: #103 – #91

My 2014 Complete Movie List: #103 – #91

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!! Alright, since that is over with we can move on….Since 2014 has now come and gone, I must (yes must) give out the complete list of movies, that were released in 2014, that I’ve seen and ranked them from worst to first. I’ve seen 103 of the movies that were released in 2014 (yeah I know that isn’t much) so I will post the list in pieces over the next several days. Below you’ll see #103 – #90. A lot of the below movies I talked about on the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To, so you can listen to that episode to get my thoughts on some of those.

Oh yeah, I have to say that I haven’t seen some movies, I’ve really wanted to see, yet like ‘Foxcatcher’ and ‘The Theory of Everything’ so unfortunately you won’t see those on the list. Now, finally, on to my 2014 complete movie list starting with #103 – #90.

103. Transcendence

This gets the award for ‘2014’s Worst Movie’. For why I feel that way, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

102. Devils Due

For my thoughts on this movie, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

101. Monuments Men

For my thoughts on this movie, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

100. Noah

For my thoughts on this movie, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

99. The Best Of Me

It’s nothing different than any other Nicholas Sparks movie. I went in expecting not to like this movie and (I knowThe Best Of Me this might be hard to believe but) I didn’t. In the films defense though, I didn’t hate it as much as I expected but I still didn’t like it at all. The first few minutes included something that drove me insane (something about a character being in the ocean for 4 hours but then nothing being physically wrong afterwards ughhhhhhh). Also the fact that Luke Bracey doesn’t look anything like a young James Marsden makes it harder for me to believe that aspect of the film; Makes it more of a distraction actually. These types of corny love story aren’t my thing anyway so I’m bound to dislike a movie when I can’t stand half of the dialogue that comes out of the “lovebirds” mouths. Oh wait, don’t get me started on the trailer trashy looking villains and how I guess they’re not parole fearing individuals either ughhhhhhhhhh.

For more of my thoughts on this movie, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

98. Ouija

My boy Ricky from ‘The Secret Life of the American Teenager’ finally got another acting job with this movie and my girl Emma from ‘Bates Motel’ is in it as well. That’s about the only positives this movie has going for it with me. The scares weren’t scares, the story really wasn’t interesting and it just felt like a really really really soft horror movie all around (even for it being PG-13. I Mean the ‘Insidious’ movies are PG-13 and look how awesome and horror’ish those movies are). Towards the big moments at the end, I found myself rolling my eyes because things were getting a little too dumb for me. I didn’t expect practically anything from this movie going in so, I can’t say that I’m even mad about it.

For more of my thoughts on this movie, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

97. The Pyramid

For my thoughts on this movie, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

96. Tammy

I usually don’t complain about an actor when he or she plays a similar character over and over again but for Melissa McCarthy, this movie might make me break that trend. Her character in this movie seemed so forced that she wasn’t really funny like she can usually be. I give the movie credit for not sticking to a complete comedy formula and trying to add some emotion to it but the movie didn’t click with me. The movie struggled to keep my attention and constantly found myself nodding off.  So in the end, I like to say this movie is right between being complete booty and being just OK.

For more of my thoughts on this movie, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

95. A Most Wanted Man

For my thoughts on this boring movie, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

94. The Giver

For my thoughts on this movie, listen to the Prequel, Present, Sequel Podcast – The Worst Movie of 2014 Goes To.

93. Tusk

I’m not surprised that this movie was dumb but I’m still disappointed that it was as underwhelming as it was. Yes ITUSK realize that it’s a movie about a man being turned into a walrus but still I thought it would have been more interesting. The dialogue parts from Michael Parks and Johnny Depp just didn’t make matters any better either. Speaking of Mr. Depp, he is being put in serious timeout for his movie choices of late. I mean look at the movie at the top of this list or… *cough cough…‘Lone Ranger’ or…*cough cough…‘Dark Shadows’. But anyways, I just thought an interesting mind like Kevin Smith could turn this crazy idea into something to match up with it; Especially after seeing ‘Red State’.

92. The Fault in Our Stars

This just wasn’t my type of movie. I like romantic dramas when they are done correctly but this movie lost me from the beginning. The performances were good by the two main stars but the movies plot and set up just didn’t leave me emotionally invested. The “sad ending” didn’t connect with me like it probably did with every teenage girl who saw the movie (I saw girls coming out of theaters with almost empty boxes of tissues). I thought that point of the movie wasn’t constructed well enough for me to feel those full emotions…or maybe I’m just heartless…yeah that’s probably it. I’m not even going to get into how much I despise the fact that most of the plot revolves around the author of the characters favorite book (Mind you, I never read the book this movie is based off of or even heard about it before the movie started being promoted).

91. Under The Skin

I’m becoming a big fan of Scarlett Johansson more and more but I just couldn’t find a way to like this movie. I like the fact that the strangers her character picks up in the movie weren’t staged and were actually not actors (at least I believe so) but the repetition of her picking them got tiresome and the ending didn’t help turn around my growing dislike for what I just watched. The ending does match the feel of the movie so I’ll give the movie credit for that but I can’t really do much else. I do want to watch it again to verify my feelings for this very odd movie (because I usually like very odd).

 

NEXT: My 2014 Complete Movie List: #90 – #81

(Photo Credit: http://mastersoffear.com/horror-retweet-hmpod-com-podcast-163-ouija-lucy-noah-chrysalis-the-bunnyman-massacre-martyrs/; Christina Radish – http://collider.com/michelle-monaghan-the-best-of-me-pixels-interview/ ; Richard Corliss – http://time.com/3387204/tusk-movie-review/)

3 thoughts on “My 2014 Complete Movie List: #103 – #91

  1. Pingback: My 2014 Complete Movie List: #90 – #81 | I See Movies

  2. Pingback: ‘Chappie’ Review | I See Movies

  3. Pingback: ‘I See Movie’ of the Week Winner: ‘Aloha’ vs. ‘San Andreas’ | I See Movies

Leave a Reply

