Horrible Bosses 2 Review

First Words

From what I remember, I thought ‘Horrible Bosses’ was hilarious when I first saw it but it still wasn’t as funny as it should of been. After watching trailers for ‘Horrible Bosses 2’ I thought the sequel was going to reach the max potential that its predecessor couldn’t. I literally found myself laughing hysterically at every new trailer the sequel dropped. So that means when I watch the full movie I’m going to find my eyes watering and my stomach hurting from laughing so hard right?

Plot

The trio of Nick (Jason Bateman), Kurt (Jason Sudeikis) and Dale (Charlie Day) are back with another terrible idea up there sleeve. This time around the friends decide to go into business for themselves (not surprising since they don’t have the best track record when it comes to having tolerable bosses…get it?) and create their own invention. When things don’t go as they had hoped with a potential investor, the three decide to jump in the kidnapping business…kind of.

Yeah, I Liked That

This might come as a surprise for a movie that is a comedy but ‘Horrible Bosses 2’ was pretty hilarious. I’ll wait why everyone finishes gasping…alright lets continue. The chemistry between Bateman, Sudeikis and Day seems to work horrible-bosses-2-jason-bateman-jason-sudeikis-charlie-daywhen it comes to providing laughs. You probably have to have somewhat of a childish sense of humor to agree but there’s nothing wrong with that. The stars also get help from returning cast members Jamie Foxx and the great Jennifer Aniston (‘Friends’ alumni will always get praise from me). Foxx was yet again a scene stealer as MuthaF***** Jones and Aniston was awesome as she once again stepped out of her familiar realm and played the extremely vulgar Julia. Chris Pine, who is one of the new cast members, was a positive addition as he put on great comedic performance as the borderline psychotic (maybe) Rex Hanson. Someone had to help make up for the absence of Colin Farrell and the less screen time for Kevin Spacey this time around.

While the many laughs were a positive, the story had its own share of good moments. Since Nick (Bateman) is the more responsible one of his friends (but that’s not saying much), it was good that the story didn’t exactly have him be in favor for the criminal activity in the sequel. Even though the idea of him being completely broke drove him to be somewhat on board with whatever bad ideas his friends had come up with, he would constantly try to get out of it. Unfortunately for him, different circumstances would come up and make that not an option for him anymore (but that’s what happens when you have to push the plot along Nick).

Other story elements that stood out to me were the kidnapping plot twist that made it more than just these three guys deciding to kidnap someone and it goes wrong; and the quick nod to how the first movie ended. If you don’t know or didn’t want to know, in ‘Horrible Bosses’ Kurt (Sudeikis) saved his friends from seeing jail time thanks to a recorded conversation. This time around, the movie makes a joke of that being the resolution but, rightfully so, it doesn’t happen that way.

Yeah, I Didn’t Like That

I mentioned that ‘Horrible Bosses 2’ was hilarious right? Well while that is the truth, things in that department slowed down tremendously during the third act and didn’t pick back up until a certain Mr. Jones (Foxx) came back in the picture. I feel a strong comedy can keep a steady consistency of laughs going throughout its complete running time and unfortunately this movie couldn’t quite do that. Now since Foxx was just mentioned, I must say that his character was underused. I know his character is not supposed to be the star of the film but when he is able to make his character as funny as he is, you have to find a way to get him onto the screen more.

While Foxx’s character wasn’t used as much as he should of been, that doesn’t compare to how badly the movie wasted Christoph Waltz. You notice how I haven’t even brought up his name once yet right? When I saw he was cast, I said to myself, “Oh that was good choice for the villain. Waltz is always great in his roles.” Ok I didn’t really say that but I was thinking something along those lines. All though this wouldn’t be a dramatic role for Waltz, I just think that giving him a role that has a little more screen time would of been beneficial for the movie.

Lastly, I must bring up the fact that ‘Horrible Bosses 2’ has the weakest bloopers I’ve seen in awhile…actually no…probably ever if I was to really sit down and think about it. I literally probably giggled once. C’mon on! You can’t convince me that with all those funny actors that was your best outtakes. If that is true, well bravo to whoever chose what jokes went into the movie because they clearly picked the best of the ever so shallow pack. The best joke from the whole blooper reel wasn’t any of the actual jokes but that those outtakes were actually picked. They have to be kidding me.

Last Words

While ‘Horrible Bosses 2’ is a very funny movie, just like its predecessor, it ultimately fails to reach its true potential. ‘Bad Words’, another Bateman movie from this year, suffers from the same flaw in similar fashion. Because of this, I can’t figure out which movie from the series I like better. Might have to make another trip back the the theater to try to figure this out because it’s clearly an important decision.

RATING:  Would Accept as a Gift

 

P.S. Once again here is my rating scale. There are four different levels. Below is each level in order from best to worse and what each one means.

Must Own = A movie that is so good that I must add it to my Blu-ray collection when it comes out.

Would Accept as a Gift = I enjoyed the movie but don’t necessarily have to buy it (especially if I don’t have the funds to) myself but I would take it if someone bought it for me.

Might Rent = A movie that if I have the urge to watch again then I’ll just rent it from somewhere or Netflix it.

Never See Again = Very simple. I don’t want to ever see this movie again.

 

(Photo Credit: Michael Briers – http://wegotthiscovered.com/movies/bad-day-office-banner-poster-horrible-bosses-2; Dave Trumbore – http://collider.com/horrible-bosses-2-image/)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

