Prediction: How Well ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ Film Will Do Opening Weekend

I know that the film version of ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ won’t be released until August 1, 2014 but in my opinion it’s never too early to talk movies. Now I’ve never read the books and I’m not anticipating this movie like I’m sure other people are but I will most likely see it so i can be up on all they hype (I have to see ‘Guardians of the Galaxy’ first that weekend of course). With the casting of the two leads being announced some weeks ago (Charlie Hunnam as Christian Grey and Dakota Johnson as Anastasia Steele), I think it’s time to start predicting how well the film will do at the box office.

The ‘Fifty Shades’ trilogy is one of the most popular book series to be released over the last several years. With that said, I thought it would only be fair to base my prediction off how well other recent, popular book series made into films have done. The ‘Harry Potter’ series, ‘Twilight’ series, and ‘The Hunger Games‘ trilogy have all either successfully navigated into film from being popular books or, in The Hunger Games case, are currently doing so. With each of these series, I’m going to use the  total sales of books and how much the first film from each series made during its opening weekend at the box office (adjusted for ticket price inflation to be make it fair) to help with my prediction. Let’s start with the book sales and then box office figures.

Book Series

Approximate Copies Sold

Harry Potter 450 million
Twilight 116 million
Fifty Shades 70 million
The Hunger Games 50 million

Film

Opening Weekend (adjusted for inflation)

The Hunger Games (2012) $157,158,000
Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (2001) $130,177,400
Twilight (2008) $79,142,600
Fifty Shades of Grey (2014) ?

Based off those figures, I believe the ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ film will open less than ‘ Twilight’ with around $65,000,000 after adjusted for inflation. I believe that to be the case because the book series sold less than the others except for ‘The Hunger Games.’ If ‘The Hunger Games’ didn’t have a popular up-and-coming actress as their lead (Jennifer Lawrence) than I believe the opening weekends would of fell in the same order as the book sales. The other three sets of series opened up or will open up with leads who aren’t as popular as Lawrence was at the time.

Alright there you have it. Can’t wait to see how wrong I am. Comment below to let me know if you agree with my prediction or not.

2 thoughts on “Prediction: How Well ‘Fifty Shades of Grey’ Film Will Do Opening Weekend

Add yours

  1. Until the movie producers select the leading roles the public agrees with the movie will not do as well as the book. If they do, the movie could gross very higher than the Twilight series.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

